We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So talented. So interesting.”

Famous People Players Dinner Theatre
Ranked #1 of 90 Concerts & Shows in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This group mounts unique, visually fantastic "black light" shows. Famous People Players is renowned not just for the quality of its shows, but also for bringing out the creative potential in performers with disabilities. The price of the show includes a four-course dinner.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived by bus to what we all thought "are we turning around?". FPP is in an industrial mall. BUT, ONCE INSIDE.....you just can't believe what you're seeing. It's like a Hollywood attraction or something. There is a wall covered with pictures of all the stars that have visited and/or contributed to FPP. The luncheon was amazing....we ate salad, chicken and roasted vegetables. LOTS of food for sure. Then we were taken into the auditorium. This seats about 60 or 70 people in theatre-style seating. The blacklight stage is in front of you.

Our show opened with Oh Canada - a neon leaf blowing around and singing it. You cannot see the actors. It's amazing. There was a theme of Oldies for the show we saw, so there were songs from Grease, Old Time Rock and Roll, Heard it through the Grapevine...that sort of thing. Every act was breathtaking. It was impossible to imagine how the actors did it, since sometimes gloves went one way and shoes went another.

You will find out the magic of the show. When you see what it takes to make Elvis move, you will be blown away.

And I hope you get to hear Diane Dupuy speak. She is breathtaking. No wonder this is her passion. The actors all have a disability of some sort. They are the servers and chefs.

I would recommend this to anyone and everyone. Small children may be confused or worried about the darkness, but explaining it to them would be easy.

Oh and there's dessert after the show!!!! Tiny Bundt Cakes!

2  Thank MissLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane D, Owner at Famous People Players Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor! Famous PEOPLE Players is thrilled you came out and had a wonderful time. We appreciate that you shared your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to entertaining you again sometime in the near future!

With sincere appreciation,
Diane Dupuy & Famous PEOPLE Players

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Famous People Players Dinner Theatre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 353 of 455 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our 50th Wedding Anniversary with friends and family at FPP was such a memorable occasion, largely because of the wonderful, warm, kind, hospitality of Diane Dupuy along with her staff and the delightful people who serve and perform. It was a perfect way to celebrate our special anniversary and we still recall fondly months later, the memorable evening that it was.
Excellent venue! Excellent food! Excellent performance ! Excellent talent !
Diane goes out of her way to make sure her guests are well looked after, as she moves through the dining room speaking to everyone. No other venue in Toronto gives such personal warmth which stays with you long after the evening. Everything about FPP is inspiring, and it is all due to Diane Dupuy and her special "family" @ 343 Evans Avenue in Etobicoke.

2  Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane D, Owner at Famous People Players Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor! Famous PEOPLE Players is thrilled you came out and had a wonderful time. We appreciate that you shared your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to entertaining you again sometime in the near future!

With sincere appreciation,
Diane Dupuy & Famous PEOPLE Players

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We celebrated our 43d anniversary with my brother and his wife whose date is the same as ours.
We had no idea what to expect, but it was a fabulous evening from start to finish. The food was soooo good and the entertainment beyond belief. We hope you have a repeat of the same show we experienced. The talent these players have is enormous and the service was very satisfactory, very pleasant and cheerful. We will definitely be back!!! Thank you. Barb,Tom, John & Sharon

4  Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane D, Owner at Famous People Players Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor! Famous PEOPLE Players is thrilled you came out and had a wonderful time. We appreciate that you shared your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to entertaining you again sometime in the near future!

With sincere appreciation,
Diane Dupuy & Famous PEOPLE Players

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Thanks to Rachel's comments I came to discover you never trust only 2 bad comments over everybody else's , you will discover one of the nicest places in Toronto. Excellent food! Excellent show!
I was just sad I didn't bring my whole family with me. Great gift for Christmas!!!



2  Thank ES201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane D, Owner at Famous People Players Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor! Famous PEOPLE Players is thrilled you came out and had a wonderful time. We appreciate that you shared your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to entertaining you again sometime in the near future!

With sincere appreciation,
Diane Dupuy & Famous PEOPLE Players

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect. My wife booked this and I was not aware that this was a charitable company. The dinner was good, my wife had salmon and I had a vegetarian (lots of veggies but no protein). Then we all went into the theatre. The entertainment was a rock and roll show done with large puppets manipulated by the cast hidden and dressed in black. It is very clever and very entertaining - we all clapped along. Many of the cast are 'differently abled' and 'abled' they certainly are. The lighting was adjusted at one stage to show how it was done and the effort and coordination that goes into manipulating the puppets is extraordinary. Very, very good.

3  Thank Martin_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane D, Owner at Famous People Players Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor! Famous PEOPLE Players is thrilled you came out and had a wonderful time. We appreciate that you shared your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to entertaining you again sometime in the near future!

With sincere appreciation,
Diane Dupuy & Famous PEOPLE Players

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous People Players Dinner Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Famous People Players Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing