We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very misleading hotel! Not all suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Ranked #104 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very misleading hotel! Not all suites!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked and prepaid for a guaranteed queen or two double bed suite. When we arrived after traveling all day to check in, I inquired about the room and was told it was a queen. We went into a tiny room by the front desk that had a small full/double bed that would not sleep two comfortably. In addition, the a/c didn't work and was spewing ice chunks out. The room smelled of mold and mildew, probably from the dripping Water from the a/c unit. I went back and asked the clerk to move us to another room and was told there weren't any and they would not refund the amount paid. I had to argue with management for several hours to finally refund the room since there was no way we could comfortably stay there. Choice hotels toll free customer service showed in their records that the hotel didn't even have any double beds so I think it was an overflow room used by the night staff. Very bad experience...Beware!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the room by the front desk. It's a full sized bet they try to pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    60
    63
    34
    39
See reviews for
36
69
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went with a bunch of friends (ages 20-22) for the September 24th weekend and after reading the reviews I expected this hotel to be the worst stay of my life. On the contrary, it was exactly what I hoped for - affordable, clean, and acceptable. We stayed during the same weekend that the Grey Cup was in town so it was the only hotel that we could get on relatively short notice but even during one of the city's busiest weekends the hotel was clean and quiet. There were no "crackheads" on the corners and the Harvey's across the street didn't have any hookers in it from what I can see. The staff did their jobs and we didn't expect much out of them. All-in-all it was a regular stay at a cheap hotel. It surprises me that people would stay at an Econolodge in downtown Toronto and spend their day inspecting everything about their room. All we did was check in, get ready, and go out; as long as there were clean towels in the bathroom and clean sheets on the beds, why would anything else matter? If you're going to spend your weekend in Toronto sitting in your room then I'm sure you're going to find something wrong with it.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 122. Since it was the first floor we didn't experience the 'no elevator'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borislav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Well here are the pros:

It's a cheap place to sleep and they have free Internet.

And of course, the cons:

No parking
No spot to pull up and check in and drop off luggage because you have to park down the street
Cigarette burns in bed sheets and comforter
Dirty/rusty baseboard heater
Burn holes in carpet
No elevator
Nothing around this location

Really if you need somewhere to stay and have no money and it's short notice and you don't care what it's like as long as there is a roof over your head then this is your place...really don't expect much from this place the outside is deceiving because the inside has had its share of damages

And yes, there were really two cigarette burns in the comforter of my bed

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandrews905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Took the cheap way out and opted to book on hotels.com for a one night stay in Toronto with my sister. I certainly learned my lesson! This was by far the worst hotel experience of my life. The only good thing about this hotel was that we arrived earlier than check-in time so they stored our luggage so that we could go shopping. Things quickly went downhill from there.

1. No elevator, had to drag luggage up flights of stairs with no help.
2. Room temperature was stuck at what felt like -50 degrees and when we complained numerous times we were given the remote to the air conditioning in our room to "fix it ourselves".
3. A white T-shirt was left in our washroom, I don't even want to know why/how it got there.
4. Staff was unbelievably unhelpful. We asked to switch rooms at the outset of the temperature problem, but the hotel was "at capacity". This was obviously untrue because the front-desk staff member later offered to switch us to another room when we threatened to leave. Did he think we wouldn't remember his previous statement that they were at capacity?
5. Before we froze to death we ended up paying over $200 to stay at the Sheraton Centre and left with no refund.
6. Got a poorly written apology letter from a manager when I later complained to the hotel head office.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl_h6783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel one night and the price was good for the stay, front desk was extremely fast on checking in and giving us the direction to the on site parking. The room was very clean and nice, the AC was very cool and have a really good night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and it will be nice if they served fruit with the breakfast and have a little of more choice on the breakfast. Otherwise it was a awesome stay at this hotel. I would recommended other of my friends and family to try out this hotels.

Room Tip: A room with a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farhad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpful, give good direction to the prime downtown. Nice area with the good walk, breakfast in the morning was good. Price was good, cant get anything out of it. Give a try for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiney32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

More bad to report than good.

1. Parking not good, sent to a full lot -finally ended up at the ramada( $25 for 24 hr)
2. Non smoking for guests, but the vagrants who "live" here are allowed to smoke everywhere (rooms, walking in halls, steps, etc) Smoke spreads everywhere!
3. Hair scattered everywhere in room - bed, sink, tub (maid is shedding or rooms aren't being cleaned properly.
4. Room not vaccuumed- a broken paperclip, a raw soup noodle, and dust/lint balls entwined with hair welcomed us into our room.
5. Lipstick on styrofoam coffee cup -reused cups...really?
6. Wet spot on floor at foot of our bed -great if your looking for soggy socks
7. Crackheads visibly roam sidewalks smoking their glass pipes
8. Remote and tv don't match -had to watch tv like it was "1984", and change channels manually.
9. Staff has very little hotel experience and it shows
10. When checking out the guy at the counter who i've never seen in my life (different than the guy who checked us in), knew which room i was staying in before i said one word. This was creepy and Makes us feel like we were being watched during our stay.

The good: Harvey's restaurant and convience store across street and that is it.

Room Tip: stay next door at the ramada for the extra $75 and avoid this place, no upgrade money has been inves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grant p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 136 in Toronto
260 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
465 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#101 of 136 in Toronto
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 136 in Toronto
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Address: 335 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Toronto
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Downtown
Econo Lodge Toronto
Econo Lodge Downtown
Toronto Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing