We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Havinn International Guest House
Ranked #46 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Very homely and accommodating B&B in a great location in Toronto. Breakfast was included in the rate. Bear in mind that you do share a bathroom with the other tenets located on the second floor (actually, two bathrooms, but only one has a shower). You also have access to a kitchen with a fridge and microwave should you choose to eat-in. Overall a very good deal and environment. Perfect for a traveling couple or student(s).

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank kahtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 72 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2007

My landlord was going to renovate my bathroom and asked if I could find reasonably priced accommodation for a few days and he would cover the costs. While searching the internet, I discovered three places in close proximity. I visited all three and was given a tour. I chose to stay at Havinn for a couple of reasons, the rooms were clean and bright, the owner was very friendly and parking was onsite and free. For $54 a night, I had cable TV with free movies, wireless internet service and a great breakfast. The subway station is only five minutes away and is staffed. Good value for this neighbourhood and location!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tokyo
117
Reviewed June 23, 2006

We stayed at Havinn International in April. Havinn located Annex area which is very convenience and safe, close to U of T. The rate was $65.00CAD per night for two of us which is very reasonable price as a guest house in Annex area. Our room has comfortable beds and there are shared bath rooms which are clean and neat. We had lovely breakfast like muffin, bagel, fresh fruit, coffee and etc. Those were more than we expected. Hostess is friendly and spoken Japanese. Especially my Mom was glad to talk to her with same language from.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
128
Reviewed October 30, 2005

I am a seasoned traveler and have stayed at hundreds of inns, motels, hotels and B&B's throughout North America. Havinn B&B is, hands down, the best place to stay in Toronto. And surprisingly affordable, too.

My travel companion and I stayed at the Havinn B&B just shy of two weeks over the summer. We had a wonderful stay and will book there again next summer. Innkeeper Gary and his Japanese wife Emiko could not have been more attentive to our needs.

Our unlimited breakfast buffet featured fresh fruit, fruit juices, fresh brewed coffee, bagels, cream cheese, all types of pastries and warm home-made muffins (try the blueberry muffins; they're out of this world!).

If a problem came up during our stay, Gary or Emiko attended to it pronto. For example, I wanted a fluffier pillow. The next day, Gary came back with a brand-new feather down pillow just for me.

The location, within walking distance to all the downtown places of interest, saved us lots of cab fare, too.

A B&B is clean, friendly guest HOME, not some cookie-cutter chain motel or hotel. During our stay, we got to know the other guests. Some of them were repeat customers. Everyone remarked upon the excellent value and warm family-style atmoshere. And don't forget the muffins!


Thomas Wentworth, Ph.D.
Upper Saddle River, N.J.07458

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2005

My friend and I arrived at Havinn B&B in Toronto on a Friday at 11:00pm (at the beginning of October), and found the key and directions to our room hidden in the place where we were told, as we were arriving late. When we got to our room, we found it to have only 1 double bed, instead of 2 twin beds, as requested. When you go somewhere, you expect to get what you asked for, right? So we called Havinn 3 times. No one answered the first 2 times, and the 3rd time, a man answered the phone, and I explained the situation to him. When he replied "So you're calling me at 3 in the morning or whatever to tell me this?", I was speechless and said "It's 11pm". And he said "Hold on" in a grumpy voice. After a few minutes, he came back and said the best he could do was give us an extra mattress to put on the floor, and that we could move to another room the next day and I said "Ok, that's fine." He didn't say anything. And I said "Thanks." and he hung up. That's not the kind of service you expect when you go to a bed & breakfast, motel or hotel. I wouldn't have minded staying there the whole weekend, even on the Friday with the mattress on the floor, but his rudeness was so intolerable that we couldn't stay there the whole weekend and didn't want to give them the business they didn't deserve. So we made some phone calls to try to find somewhere else to stay, after leaving a note to the owners of Havinn. It was really frustrating because a lot of places were fully booked because of the long weekend and many others were very expensive (since this was so last minute). This almost completely ruined our plans in Toronto. Havinn's location is close to downtown so no driving would've been required. We found a Super 8 in Toronto East (Scarborough), which was very nice, and ended up getting there at 1am.
The next day, I received an e-mail from the woman that also owned the B&B apologizing for what had happened.
As for the place, it looked ok. The location is good, it's close to the Dupont subway stop, near downtown.

15  Thank aliahdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Giuliadipalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Le N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Midtown
Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Kaisar Guest House
Kaisar Guest House
#59 of 118 in Toronto
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Spadina 11 Guesthouse - Toronto
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#9 of 118 in Toronto
362 reviews
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havinn International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havinn International Guest House

Address: 118 Spadina Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2T8, Canada (Formerly Havinn Bed&Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: $74 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Havinn International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing