We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For value and comfort in the city, can't be beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Havinn Bed&Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 117 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Havinn is in the Annex area of Toronto, near where many students live. It's very near a subway station, as well as a liquor store (you need these in still-puritainical Toronto), cafes and a big drug store.

For about $65 Cdn I had a big room on the top floor with a futon sofa, king bed, lots of nice oak pieces, and a TV. The breakfast (served on the second floor) includes yummy danish pastries, nice wholemeal breads, although a bizarre fact is that there is no milk for coffee, just a tiny thing of coffee cream. Still, a minor complaint, and there is a fridge to keep your milk container in! You can use the kitchen to cook in and there are two and a half bathrooms to serve six rooms. So there's always somewhere free.
It's a bit like a hostel because they don't do your room up every day, but at this price whaddya want? I've already recommended it and will again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highfalutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Havinn Bed&Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed here for two nights and was wary at first of a shared bathroom, but in fact there a couple of bathrooms and it was not a problem.
It is more of home than just a simple bed and breakfast, which probably make the people staying there a little more respectful.
I would certainly recommand this place for value and location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

A beautiful experience. Nice house with lighty rooms on 3 floors. Shared bathrooms. Most of the rooms have king bed. Good breakfast and the chance to help yourself to tea during the whole day. There's a microwave and a fridge for longer stay guests. Coin laundry located nearby (some 400 mts) . The landlords are awesome, fair and always willing to help and give recommendations when needed. The location is convenient and the area is very safe. It's some 25 minutes walking from downtown and surrounded by beautiful neighborhoods. 3 minutes walk from Dupont metro station. 6 from Spadina streetcar station. Good quality-price ratio. The average guests are nice and interesting persons. Usually travellers, not turists. Great!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quekalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Reasonable accommodtion with shared bathroom & kitchen facilities. Rooms were quite nice and comfortable. Not too far from the city centre with the train station at the end of the street or a short walk to hop on the tourist bus. If you don't mind walking a pleasant stroll along Yonge Street.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

After trying several hostel experiences in Toronto with mixed results i opted this time for a b&b. Gary the owner once actually started as a hostel then grew into what i would call a hybrid hostel/b&b.
It was quiet, clean, and had a friendly vibe that hotels don't and hostel cliques discourage.Gary and i had many great chats and i simply found the experience exceeded my expectations. Location was superb for my research work at the Robarts library. Breakfast was sufficient and you had a fridge to leave food too.I certainly would recommend it and already have . For the price ,conveniences, ambience , etc it offers a superior travel stay experience. Dave Brydges poet/independent scholar

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vagabundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

The B&B was a large town house kept very clean, although run more like a hostel than a home. On the top floor we had a very large room, probably also used as a family room, with bedside table each, dressing table and large wardrobe with a shared bathroom just down the hall. This wasn't usually an issue as there was only one other room on our floor sharing the bathroom.
We were probably first down and had the pick of breakfast, comprising cake, croissants, orange juice and yoghurt, which was adequate. The location was a short walk from the tube and a slightly longer walk to shops and bars.
We had to pay cash on arrival, which wasn't mentioned in previous correspondence and was a little inconvenient, but Gary was helpful and friendly during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Abbeyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

When we first sent our inquiry to Havinn, Gary responded very quickly and gave us the necessary information. Everything was as the website states. The place is not fancy, but clean and simple. The bed we slept on was good. The room was warm. The continental breakfast was good, though more fruit and a selection of cold drinks (more than orange juice) would have been nice. The kitchen furniture and cupboards were clean, but could use an upgrade of paint and style. The price was right for Toronto!

Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
3  Thank Ndoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Midtown
Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#9 of 117 in Toronto
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Smile Back Bed and Breakfast
Smile Back Bed and Breakfast
#60 of 117 in Toronto
6 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 117 in Toronto
246 reviews
Downtown
Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havinn Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havinn Bed&Breakfast

Address: 118 Spadina Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2T8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: $74 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Havinn Bed&Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing