We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old World Hotel Renovated Into A Museum Hotel”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #16 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Gladstone Hotel was built and named after British Lord Gladstone in the 1890's. The family had a complete renovation of the hotel in the 1980's (?). It is the equivalent of the 2LC Museum Hotels being built in mid size cities in the United States. There is art on every floor and each room has been designed by a Canadian artist. The turn of the century rooms still remain small and suffer from lack of room service and proper housekeeping. We noticed several silverfish in our room during the stay. The hotel is home to poetry slams, sketch artist classes, bands on Friday night and a church service in what was the ballroom on Sunday. Parking is another challenge. There isn't any. If the hotel cannot secure a spot across the street, you have to park in public parking for twelve hour periods. The hotel restaurant served a great breakfast, but other essentials such as an unloading and loading zone for arrival and departure has not been arranged. If i would have researched further, I would have picked the Drake Hotel, just two blocks away.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel has someplace to park your car. Choose a larger room that has a place for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 827 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Individualized room themes, each decorated by different designers. The staff was really caring, going out of their way to guide and handle needs. Overall it was a great value and in a cool area of town.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick your room, some decor might not be to your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Billgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Gladstone was a great place to stay. Rooms are all designed by artists and art is exhibited in all the hallways and lobbies on each floor. Location was perfect, lots of restaurants, bars and shopping within walking distance. Our room was super clean, bed was comfortable, nice sheets and I was happy that the toiletries provided were all natural and organic. Staff was great, everyone we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our room safe and they had a locksmith there to deal with it that same afternoon during a holiday weekend and gave us complimentary brunch the next day, which was delicious. Overall a really good hotel experience, we would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: There are photos and videos of all their rooms on their website so you see exactly what you are gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rag1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our room was decorated artfully-like a haunted house. The linens were clean, as was the whole room. We thought the staff was friendly and helpful. The location on Queen St. was great, with interesting shops and restaurants close by. We enjoyed the art in the hallways. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best thing about the Gladstone for us was the Queen St. location. Lots of interesting restaurants, bars, and shops. Not too far from the lake, we went for lakeside runs each morning. We found the staff universally friendly and helpful. The most bothersome thing was the tiny shower. I am not sure why they installed a tub spout there (maybe to make cleaning easier?) but it took quite a bit of strength to pull out the metal thing that sends to water up through the showerhead; my wife couldn't do it on her own. The ancient elevator is staff-operated so we ended up walking up and down the stairs to the fourth floor except when we arrived and left (with luggage). This might not be the best establishment for folks with mobility issues. The idea of uniquely designed rooms and art exhibits in the halls is attractive and was fun on arrival; for me, it didn't make a huge difference. I found the rainwater wall on the stairs (careful, it makes the landing a bit slippery) and the green meadow rooftop more interesting. A youth music organization was performing in the small ballroom when we came back to the hotel on Saturday night; we enjoyed popping in and listening for a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Overall not a very good experience despite expectations based on reviews on tripadvisor. Reservation was totally wrong by the time I arrived, the price was misquoted, number of days was wrong, and the room type was incorrect. Didn't get an email confirmation because the guy who took my reservation kept getting my email address wrong (despite 3 corrections over the phone). I was told we'd get a queen bed but it was a small double in the end, the room was a shoebox, we could barely get around the bed without bumping into the furniture, over a noisy street with nothing noteworthy or "artsy" at all about the room. The sheets had dried bloodstains on them, the bathroom wasn't the cleanest, and when we went to check out, we were only then told (and quite rudely) that we had to pay for parking across the road. The room also has this bizarre slatted window thing above the door, which lets light flood into the room from the hallway with no way to block it off, so the room was very bright all night - not helpful for a sensitive sleeper. I found the staff were absentminded and for a total bill of $250 we could stay at a 5 star hotel downtown for very little extra and with much more space and better service, so we just left early and decided to cancel our extra nights. I travel extensively for work globally (~100-150 nights a year) so have plenty to compare it to, and would not recommend staying here for the price - it is vastly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank dragonflygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay! Great boutique hotel. We had a great stay and would defiantly stay again. Parking was a pain as I couldn't find anything about it on their web site. I found out upon check in that you must call the hotel to reserve a spot (which are limited). We ended up parking on the street which was fine....I was told it was free in certain spots due to the construction. Low and behold....when we checked out Sunday I had a parking ticket for not having a permit! Nothing was posted anywhere (this was on peel st. right in front of the construction area) near where I parked. Oh well....a $30 ticket was cheaper than paying for parking at most Toronto hotels for one night. I was parked there for 2. A great stay though!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Schackleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#11 of 136 in Toronto
648 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,958 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#6 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $204 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing