We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good hotel ... if you're a couple or single” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel ... if you're a couple or single”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

this hotel is pretty cool inside. doubling as an art gallery, there is art on the walls everywhere and every room is unique. however, the rooms are quite cramped and only have queen size beds so it didn't quite suit my needs for a stay with just a friend.

the location is ok as there are a few bars and restaurants in the super artsy part of town where it is located but to get to central downtown toronto you still need to take a 20 minute bus ride.

i would recommend this hotel for romantic getaways or business travelers bc the hotel itself is still a sight to be seen despite its distance from town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purplha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    224
    43
    19
    15
See reviews for
51
288
59
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

On West Queen street and Gladstone, this funky, Artsy hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The small restaurant - also the bar - is a lovely room with amazing lighting fixtures. Oh yes, their breakfasts are excellent and very reasonable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful

Each room has its own theme - as does each floor have its own art theme. The elevator is manually operated and dates back to 1907.

I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oblimov18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had a great night in the red room of the Glastone!
Quiet and very nicely appointed, the only disappointment was the ridiculously small shower. I mean, the bathroom was big enough to accomodate something much bigger, I don't know how they except anyone to get clean in there. Plus the door did not close well, so water seeps out. Other weird thing is they have an "honor" bar in the room, with no price list...

But apart from that, the hotel is amazing! Great art, great service, lovely big windows everywhere and the location is hip and fun to explore. We had the brunch in the downstairs café which was excellent (banana bread french toasts!!) I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Queens street and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dafeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We held a public meeting at the eclectic Gladstone Hotel on Queen in Toronto. The meeting room was cool. it had good sound and the small stage is fairly good for making presentations. Its small bar with microbrewery beers and the unique selection of finger foods added to the meetings success. We had at least 45 people attending! Having the Queen Street street car line stop at the door was a bonus. Thanks Gladstone staff for your good work.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Probably worth noting there is a nightclub in the hotel and it was very loud. If you plan on sleeping at a reasonable hour, this is probably not a great place for you. It was definitely not without it's charm however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with my sweetheart on a Saturday and Sunday night. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the third floor in room 315, which shares a wall with the elevator. NOTE: the elevator is an old manual version that the staff has to run. It isn't always available and isn't used that often - mainly just when people have luggage. If you have issues climbing stairs, another hotel might be a better choice. It's a cool elevator, though!

The room was very small, but that was okay, because I actually like being up close and personal with my sweetie! The bed was very comfortable, and the pillows were good. There wasn't much drawer space in the room. Also no real room to live out of your suitcase unless you put it on the furniture. There was a small flat screen TV on the brick wall, which worked great and let us watch the football game on Sunday night. The room had a tablet with internet access which made checking email and finding things to do pretty easy. The main lights had a dimmer, which was nice, and there were bedside lamps that made it easy to read without disturbing your partner.

The bathroom was small, and the shower was VERY SMALL. If you are a large person, you will have trouble with the shower. Not much in the way of shelf space, although there were some shelves just outside the bathroom door that were technically part of the nightstand that we used to store our toiletries. No fan in the bathroom.

The walls in this hotel are very thin - we could hear people walking down at least two flights of stairs while in our room with the door shut. Women in heels were particularly loud. We could also hear conversations going on in the common area. On Saturday night there was an engagement party in the Ballroom, and we could hear the music, although it wasn't loud enough to be disturbing. They do provide earplugs, although if you are a light sleeper, this hotel might not be for you.

There is coffee available in the common area on each floor every morning. There is a bar/coffee shop downstairs as well as a regular restaurant. We had breakfast in the bar one day, and it was excellent. The restaurant has live entertainment in the evenings. The entire hotel is filled with artwork, which was terrific. I wandered on most of the floors just so I could see the artwork that hangs on each floor.

Note that parking is very limited and has to be reserved in advance. Otherwise, you will be forced to find a space on your own. the hotel spaces are just across the street, but there are only a few available. Most other spaces are a few blocks from the hotel, and while they are less expensive than the hotel spaces, they require that you feed the meter twice a day - 7 am and 6 pm.

The West Queen area is a transitional neighborhood. At first glance it appears to be a sketchy area, although we walked around late into the evening without issue. There are some panhandlers, and this is a popular neighborhood for young artist types. There are lots of places to eat and many bars. It's a walking neighborhood with lots of dogs and more young children than you would expect. There are also lots of bikes on the streets, so drive carefully. There is a large park nearby, and on Sunday morning we took a long walk and saw many people running, walking their dogs, and riding bikes.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the street and 3rd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclgrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hi,

Stayed last weekend. Went with my girlfriend. Stayed in one of the less opulent rooms, the FELT room to be exact. The place was super clean and friendly. Great staff and it has beautiful wide hallways and staircases. The artwork was curious and even fun. Window opened for fresh air, decent view of back alley and cit skyline. Cozy bed and quiet room (did not need ear plugs supplied by the hotel). No children in sight. Bathroom was freezing but it had lots of towels and wonderful water pressure in the Hobbit-sized shower. Close proximity to less chic restos, cafes and second-hand stores.

Hotel restaurant was fine but as vegetarians there wasn't a breakfast option and substituting for the meat cost us money. We ate at the Drake down the street the following morning, which was quite accommodating. The armless chairs in the room had signs of, uh, spillage that made sitting in them less appealing.

Will stay again but need to check out the Drake beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#11 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#6 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#17 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing