We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST accommodations I have ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Toronto
Ranked #112 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Kitchener ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST accommodations I have ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed at hundreds of hotels, motels, inns, and hostels all over the world and this ‘inn’ rates as the lowest in all categories. First off I was embarrassed that this place existed in my country. There was no parking on sight and we had to drive a block away in a fairly ghetto neighborhood where we were asked twice for money and saw about 10 police on bikes.
I had paid for a queen size bed but we slept a double, which they still referred to as a queen. The bed itself left my boyfriend and I with extreme back pain and therefore lost half a night’s sleep. I have never seen my boyfriend in that much pain. The room left much to be desired, a window air conditioner that was very loud. The bathroom was a horrible mess, it was so small that when I, a 5’1’’ women, sat down my knees had to be moved to the side because there was a wall in the way. There was pubic hair all over and mold growing.
I hate being negative so I had tried to see some positive things about the inn, I had observed that each room number also had the number in Braille; I thought that was a nice touch that was until a few seconds later I fell up the stairs, they were uneven and unexpected. One more thing, the breakfast was one colour...white, unless you put jam on the toast to add colour.
This was an extremely disappointing hotel experience for my boyfriend and I. I have absolutely no idea how this hotel has 3 stars. I wish I would have know because I would have paid a few extra dollars for a good night’s sleep. This hotel was so bad that you couldn’t pay me to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    58
    32
    62
See reviews for
27
69
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

While I suspect they mean well the impression we got reminded me of those who arrived at the movie version. Room had electric extensions everywhere, no curtains and the air con was creating a puddle on the carpet. Apart from the small cockroach I flushed down the toilet the room was pretty clean. The breakfast of tang, brown hot water (I suspect coffee beans MAY have been involved tangentially), white bread and milk bags opened apparently by rats (based on the frayed hole in the bag) was not worth getting up for. The first six interested people for one of the bananas!

Good location given the price but definitely a work in progress. Crashing for the night - good enough. Here for a few days of rnr, aim higher.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericpianar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms should not be located in dirty Toronto hotel basements. A campground would have been more luxurious than staying in this hotel!!

Room #50 in the basement is unbelievable!! We paid for a queen bed and ended up with a double. The tv cable and converter were missing so we couldn't watch tv. There wasn't a single hook to hang anything on in the whole room. The only table in the room was taken up mostly by a tv. The bathroom walls had black marks on them, the shower was mouldy, the ceiling leaked over the toilet so you got dripped on while going to the bathroom, there weren't any hooks to hang your clothes, the lightbulb was burned out, the door didn't fully shut, and the door frame was partially renovated. We opened the blinds to reveal a vent instead of a window. I am not sure how one would escape in a fire.

I barely slept all night because I was afraid the door would get kicked in and we would get murdered in our sleep. Also, the pipes made an unusual sound like a repetitive knocking sound.

Scary, dirty, and depressing experience!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

For the price, it's a reasonable place to stay. Could use a little TLC in the way of painting or touching up little repairs, but the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable (I like firm mattresses). The bathroom was clean, the shower head was actually nice but low. The room was a bit small, but all we needed was a place to sleep. There's no closet, but it's okay since I don't think it's appropriate for a long term stay.

We didn't get to try breakfast, as it wasn't 'open' until 7am, and if you're needing to be somewhere for 8AM, this is a bit too late. Though the other reviews indicate the breakfast is decent.

We parked at the Green P up the street (5 minute walk) as it's overnight fee is max $4.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The customer service was outstanding, the best received throughout my entire trip.

I was pleasantly surprised with the condition and comfort of the room. Perfectly adequate facilities, clean room and a comfortable night's sleep. The added bonus is downtown Toronto is right on the doorstep.

Thank you Knights Inn for making my stay so warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came into town for a Jays game, we basically pick a hotel on location and cheapest price, so we're not too picky and just need room to crash in after some drinking and a ballgame, concert or night out. Every other hotel near Rogers Centre was $200 or so, we got this for under $100 so can't complain. But I will give an honest review... first of all, the hotel I think he said has 52 rooms... but only 8 parking spots!!! If they're full I guess you park down the road at some lot.... the room suited us fine, although if you come with kids or anything I dunno this is probably not a hotel for you. No perks or anything, not even an Ice machine for guests... which basically only thing I cared for since no fridge. The room is small, we booked a queen size bed, looked more like a double to me, was small. Room had a tiny window unit air conditioner in the wall... would hate to come in winter as they have portable heater in room ??? As seen in my pictures. On the cleanliness side it wasn't bad other than the bathtub was disgusting. Bed was fine, the room is old and worn down, but oh well. flatscreen tv probably the biggest perk, lol. The cont.breakfast was basically a waffle maker, toast or cereal. with OJ and coffee/tea... thats it. They told us Rogers centre a 20-25 min. walk, was actually 40 minutes. And a taxi they said $10-12 was actually $18 cab ride. Front desk person was friendly and helpful though. No problems at check in. Would I stay here again? If I just need a room after a night out and nothing else in same price range then sure... but if I could find something nicer within the vacinity of Rogers Centre or ACC for not too much more I would go elsewhere. This hotel area was nothing great to see or do... down a few side roads and little difficult to find.

Room Tip: only 8 parking spots available, otherwise have to park down the road in a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Knights Inn Down Toronto, after facing the task of moving from the current hotel as it was fully booked due to some event which I didn't encounter. However I had come across the Knights Inn hotel it was a good choice as the rooms were very clean, reasonable in size, the bathroom was clean and fresh. You can also help yourself to a decent buffet breakfast. Also the staff were very helpful and understanding. The hotel was also being a short distance walk from the world famous downtown where you would find all the shops and eateries for a truly great experience. Will definitely book again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ansar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#81 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#107 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#99 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Property: Knights Inn Toronto
Address: 117 Pembroke St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing