We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Toronto
Ranked #112 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went to Toronto for SHM concert, and at first I was really skeptical of staying there because of the reviews. But being a broke uni student, we decided to try it out.
The staff were extremely accommodating, and the rooms were clean. It did not have a closet, but the rooms were decent sized, and the washrooms were hygienic. For the price you pay, this is NOT bad at all! So close to downtown, too. Free waffles in the morning! I'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    58
    32
    62
See reviews for
27
69
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I quite enjoyed my stay at the Knight's Inn. I went down to Toronto early this March with my approximately 35 students from my school and program for the PDAC convention. They accommodated all of us without hassle and seemed quite happy to have us. The rooms themselves were quite cozy and clean, even though my room had a shattered window that was going to be repaired. I'm an optimist, so I quite enjoyed the fresh air considering we had 4 dudes in a relatively small space. The only negative thing I can think of was the size of our shower, which was slightly smaller than a broom closet. On a positive note, that was just our room. The other rooms had beautiful stone and were far roomier. So overall, wonderfully friendly staff, comfortable rooms, affordable cost, good location, and WAFFLES FOR BREAKFAST!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this small establishment, clean, 'no frills' budget-friendly, polite staff. It's in the heart of downtown Toronto-- within walking distance to major attractions, such as Eaton Centre & others places, & TTC transit. They have free continental breakfast; and affordable parking (compared to other local hotels & city parking).
--Although the size of my queen room was compact, it had it's own seperate full bathroom, & TV, & dinning table, night table; it was comfortable, clean & updated/modern furnishings in the room/bathroom. (The hotel itself the deco in the hallways may need updating in terms of the colors, but if budget is your focus, then this is a great place-- esp. for students or someone who would rather spend the money on great local restaurants, local attractions or shopping).
--Overall,I enjoyed my stay (was in town for a conference and wanted to avoid having to commute in busy, crazy downtown traffic & bad weather storm predicted for that week; and wanted to be near my conference, so I could sleep in a bit in the morning before hand).
-- The 2 main drawback is if you're someone who has mobility issues, then it may be an issue -- as there's no elevator to the 2nd floor (and multi-level stairs & landings, and steep main staircase). Secondly, there's limited parking spaces (so check ahead of time for availability if you're bringing your car), but it is probably adequate for the size of the establishment (esp. on weekday) .
--TIP -- ( If you're from out of town), there are many one way streets in the downtown core (can be confusing), and because of local transit (busses & streetcars, at certain times of the day you can't turn in certain directions or there's no city street parking during certain posted times). Best options (instead of taking the car) -- walk, take TTC transit (subway, bus), or taxis, as Municipal Parking can be around $25+ for day.

Room Tip: No fitness center, or poor (or 'extra frills').
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located. (The Carleton Repertory Cinema is near Yonge and Carleton, a few blocks away.) Staff were hospitable and helpful. The hotel is not fancy, but it is reasonably priced and includes a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Most of the staff are friendly and helpful.The location of this hotel is perfect, it's in the heart of the downtown.If you are going to use the room for sleeping and showering and you will spend most of your day out, then this is the right hotel. The room was clean and cozy, the breakfast is for free but very poor.If you are old and you have a heavy bag, chose your room in the ground floor as there is no elevator. The worst thing in this hotel was that although they are mentioning that there is a free wifi in the rooms, there was no wifi coverage on the floors. Everytime you have to go to the reception area to use the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is great it's about a 7 minute walk to dundas square and the eaton centre. Diner, pizza hut and smokes poutinerie down the road. It is a good short stator if your not fussy about being In a nice hotel. Although the place appears to be renovated recently it felt as if they were trying to dress up and cover the wear and tear, not a particularlarly good job at it either.

Overall if you are looking to discover sight see or shop for most of the day and use the room for showering and sleeping and your looking to save money, then this is the hotel for you. A plus is that wifi is free and so is breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for a night instead of a hostel at a bit less a night. I dont have high expectations but a greeting and quick introduction would be nice (WiFi Password, when is breakfast etc.)
The rooms are very nice for the price and I had the feeling there had been recent renovations but the staff was disappointing. There was only a half toilet paper roll in the room which didnt last very long because its thinner than paper and I was furious when the front desk attendant knocked on my door at 2 am (NO JOKE!!) because apparently the room didnt showed empty in the system. So not only did nobody realise until 14 hours after arrival but also did he have the crazy idea to come knocking at 2 am!
Really nice location and good rooms but the service was below (my very low) standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadtravellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We sincereloy apologise to the guest. At the time we were undergoing a change in our software and the staff were in training. The incident at 2AM will be investigated but it is possible that due to the transistion from one software to another some rooms had been missed and showed available.

The reviews are very important to us and enable us to address the complaints and improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 132 in Toronto
251 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#107 of 132 in Toronto
20 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#99 of 132 in Toronto
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Property: Knights Inn Toronto
Address: 117 Pembroke St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing