We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TYSO is great”

Toronto Symphony Orchestra
Ranked #62 of 511 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1922, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra is one of Canada’s leading cultural institutions. Today, more than 225,000 patrons and over 50,000 students visit the Orchestra at Roy Thomson Hall each year, and an additional five million Canadians tune in to concert broadcasts on CBC Radio. Under the leadership of Music Director Peter Oundjian, the Orchestra has increased recording and touring projects to include a self-produced record label, and performances throughout the US and Canada. The Orchestra continues to develop its international presence by being an active commissioning body for new Canadian and international works, as well as attracting distinguished guest artists and conductors to performances at Roy Thomson Hall.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“TYSO is great”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was lucky enough to hear about TYSO and the great interacitve train symphony they were holding. I took my daughter and she had a blast. Brilliant how they could entertain children with such calming, professional form of entertainment. You've got Sponge Bob squarepants beat!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spid_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    52
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Musical Experience for All”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The TSO consistently offers the finest of music in a beautiful location with dynamic flair. Musicians play like it was their last concert and the audience receives full value and more.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Orchestra, see them for free”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

These guys are terrific and while I am not a classical music critic, I really love their attempt at being accessible.

Every now and again, they will do free concerts to the public, so yes, they are worth it by themselves, but if you can catch them in their outdoor free concerts, all the better and very much fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit of classical music never hurt anyone”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I know a lot of people who go to concerts out of a snobbish sense of belonging to a certain type of pseudo-intellectual group. I also know people who can candidly admit they do not enjoy classical music at all. The appeal is quite limited, when compared to today's culture. I am one of those true fans, who feel uplifted and transformed by an excellent piece, and even a good piece can help transcend the daily and give me temporary wings. The Toronto Symphony orchestra managed to make me completely forget that I had come from a long day at the office and was heading towards more chores at home...definitely recommend for true quality music lovers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicoleta-nicoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Orchestra - great conductor”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

great programs and lots of choice. interesting switches like showing Casablanca (the film) with the orchestra accompanying. or Bernstein's West Side Story (also film). Orchestra is great one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toronto Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing