We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For People Watching But Watch Our For Com Artists!!!!”

Nathan Phillips Square
Ranked #31 of 505 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
733 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Good For People Watching But Watch Our For Com Artists!!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great place for people watching but watch out for con artists who like to work the crowds of tourists. There are special events going on in the square and skating is good in the winter time. One can even get a seat at city council and see the different groups of political types going after each other.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    239
    88
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting and lively place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lots of activities going on. Great for people watching. Nice view of the city as well and close to the Eaton Centre.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank J0hanna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful skating rink”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It's definitely one of the best place to skate during christmas times since it has all the light decorations strung up and a big christmas tree nearby, really sets the atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dougie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple, ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So Much Fun...”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's such a nice outing for a family or even a couple. There is a skate rental (we bring our own), and I like the kids to wear their helmets. It's a lot of fun. You can buy snacks at the snack bar, and there are lockers to put your belongings (we just put our shoes at the edge of the rink where people sit). There are so many nice places to go grab a bite to eat once you're finished skating. Before we were married, my husband and I used to come for a skate at night when all the Christmas lights were out. Very romantic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank timnadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Downtown Delights”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was great to get down to Nation Phillip Square this winter and rent some skates (make sure you have ID and not student cards!) They are very courteous as they will easily change sizes for you without making you wait in the line up. They also are reasonable as it is only $10/2Hrs. for adult rentals. I found it to be a very nice activity in the middle Downtown Toronto, to indulge in the interactive fun activity. There is usually a crowd, and the highly skilled skaters are very considerate of the new beginner's hitting the ice for the first time. It is definitely worth the day to go and have a liberating day in the wonderful Nation Phillip Square Skating Arena in the winter as must as it is in the summer when they have water filled fountains that cascade and give you a nice cool breeze on a hot day. Certainly worth the visit to enjoy some time in the city, anytime of year. Hot chocolate is available in the winter, and they have many Hot dog stands, as well as the ice cream trunks, stationed there in the summer- that is if you want a quick bite there, as a pose to one of the several restaurants that surround this centrally located attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan Phillips Square also viewed

 

Been to Nathan Phillips Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing