We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable show, great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Massey Hall

Massey Hall
Ranked #71 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable show, great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Saw night 2 of the Joni Mitchell 70th b-day tribute (featuring Herbie Hancock, Rufus Wainwright, Kathleen Edwards, Glen Hansard, etc). I'm in a wheelchair, and this old (1890s) gem of a theatre has been retrofitted to make it (marginally) accessible; but every show I've seen there has been one for the ages-including 2012's Kate McGarrigle tribute and a solo John Prine show I saw while a student at UofT in the late 70s.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    74
    26
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't see the stage.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Our seats were to the side and very high in this venue. The acoustics were A+++,but we couldn't see the artist at all. Make sure you have a seat in the middle!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Massey hall don't let you in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had ground floor seats that we bought the day they went on sell. It was for my husbands birthday! We were having a great day till we got there and they said my husband wasn't allowed in. BEWARE on the back of the ticket it says they have the right to refuse anyone. They said he was intoxicated. This was 7:30 pm. They had already took our tickets and refused to give them back. They said maybe at 9:00 pm they would let us in. We had to 2 drinks at a bar and 2 drinks with dinner. This was over a 4 hour period. So we waited out front for 1 1/2 hours. Didn't drink. The girl stated then that she was still not going to let us in. They would not return our money or give us the tickets back. I have posted this on many places. Have gotten 100's of replies. And see that this is a common thing for them to do. I think this may have been due to the fact that my husband wore his long hair down and his cowboy hat, come on give us a break. This was a Willie Nelson concert. SO BEWARE!!!! Also we noticed that people coming out between the acts were so drunk they couldn't walk. So they don't care if you drink there, just before.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Took seven women to hear Barry White sing many years ago. In the downtown area. What a night! Try and see a show there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Memasmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very intimate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I saw an acoustic performance here, and the atmosphere was amazing. The seats are extremely small, so it can be a little uncomfortable, but it is a very old music hall.

Audience interaction with the performer is amazing, and seems almost encouraged here. Every seat can be clearly heard from the stage. If you get a chance, do see a concert here. Worth every penny.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Prospekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massey Hall also viewed

 

Been to Massey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing