We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jesse Cook rocked my socks off” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massey Hall

Massey Hall
Ranked #72 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jesse Cook rocked my socks off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was my first time at Massey and it was to see Jesse Cook and company. Acoustics are amazing in a building that is so old! I loved the atmosphere, sort of like being in your own living room with a drink to boot. Thanks for the wonderful show. I will definitely be back. Gisele from Yellowknife

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gisele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    71
    26
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Acoustics In Canada!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This music hall, although long in the tooth is one of North America's premier venues for seeing the best singers the music world has to offer. Regardless of where you sit you will not be out of ear shot to some of the greatest who have performed here. Keep your theatre stubs as souvenir because each time you look at them you will remember the artist you heard and saw on stage. Memorable!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great venue! Classic setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is just fantastic. You can sit back and feel as if you were in the early 1900s when you come here. The sound is incredible and so are the artists who come on through. We saw the Pixie's here and it was a blast. Careful when picking your seats, because of the old fashionedness of the joint there are places where you will have a column in your view.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank destroy_tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Has character but not comfort.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been to this venue several times. It is fairly small so tickets can sometimes be challenging to obtain if it is a popular act. On a couple of occasions I have found that if you check a day or two before a concert, you may find that good seats have opened up. The building is old and in need of some renovation. The seats on the main level are cushioned and slide to recline slightly. As you go up the building (balcony and gallery)...the seats get decidedly less comfortable. Leg room in the higher levels is none existent. Centre balcony affords a pretty good view. Be cautioned about side views. Even in unobstructed seats you may find a big speaker blocking your view and you will not be able to see much of the side stage below you.

Snacks are available at normal prices (chips, soft drinks, candy). Alcohol is also available.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CS192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Superb Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

A superb historical venue and home of the legendary Neil young gig in 1971. On the occasion of my visit i went to see Gordon Lightfoot. A lot of history in the venue

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massey Hall also viewed

 

Been to Massey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing