We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isabella Hotel and Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Ranked #112 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Terrible place....didn't look too bad in lobby intil you came upon the elevator or coffin...whatever you want to call it. It was so small my Girlfriend has clausterphobia and it scared her to death so we had to get a close to the main floor room. The Room was small barely enough to fit the queen size bed. The bed was comfy though. The bathroom was smaller than anything ive seen. You sit on the toilet and you would be able to touch both wall and shower stall with your legs....The shower stall was ok size but the entrance was very small u had to squeeze in. No bathtub...So we sat on the bed and i walked over to the other side to grab something and the floor was soaked...I looked up and the vent for the air conditioner was leaking...the whole rug was soaked...called the front desk they sent up a cleaning lady with a little tiny heater and plugged it in and said there ya go it shoudl dry up just dont use the air conditioning so we would roast...she smiled rudley at use when she left i had to change hotels with hotwire it was so bad....Terrible place will never go back...PLEASE dont waste your money! I wouldnt give it a 1 star...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Easy to book.com did not send my reservation to the hotel. Had to wait for them to fax it. Elevator barely fits one person. Unpleasant smell in the hallways. Could sit on the toilet and wash my hands at the same time. Not sure if that's suppose to be a bonus. Only small people could fit in that bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've booked it using the Hotwire services, and in its profile they said it was a Boutique Hotel. But it's not ! It's a old building they painted, that's all.

But it's clean and close to the metro (but in the edge of Toronto's downtown). I did not fell safe on the street at night.

Simple breakfast, but fresh,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielvosilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I loved this property.

Had originally booked because my chains of preference were sold out or too high in price for the Saturday I was staying and I will come back to this hotel whether the others have availability or not.

I was travelling solo on a half-pleasure, half-business basis and have no complaints.
My room was adorable and had a great layout. It had more than enough floor and desk space. The windows were nice and large. The beds were comfortable (I slept like a baby). The free wifi worked just great. The staff were super friendly and built great rapport with me. There's a restaurant with a beautiful patio attached I really want to try next time.

Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaseyInRealLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was at my 2 day vacation in Toronto downtown and chose to book Isabella hotel as it is close to subway and other attractions.

The overall service was nice for the price I booked for but my wife got a skin allergy on her right arm which can be due to unclean sheets or bed-bug.The staff at front-desk was really helpful and showed me the directions for the nearby places to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was the worst decision to stay in this hotel!
It was said in the website there is parking for 15 bucks, but it turned out the parking lot is full and i have to spend 18 bucks for 24 hours in an underground, dirty and smelly parking lot a block away.

the room is so small (about 10 square feet), worse than a motel: there is only a double bed, only leaving you a narrow passage to access to bed. That's all. Not even a chair for you to sit on.

Don't tricked by the free breakfast. I stayed in hostels and their breakfast is better. it's only milk and cereals, toasts which you need to toast them yourself. people were eating in the small area in the lobby, not enough tables. Many were sitting on the couches.

The hair dryer is broken (no one knows for how long). I called the reception and was told they don't have any spare one. I had to go out with wet hair.

Definitely not worth the money. I would have stayed in a motel with half of the price I payed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler101155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I know from previous reviews that some travelers had issues while the hotel was being renovated. Well, it's done now and the hotel provides some basic services at a very reasonable price. Two blocks from the subway and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Nothing fancy but clean and quiet. Front desk was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler who does't mind being a little away from the center of Toronto and is willing to use public transportation to get around.

Room Tip: If you want a little more room ask for the deluxe room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 138 in Toronto
291 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#105 of 138 in Toronto
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#73 of 138 in Toronto
497 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isabella Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabella Hotel and Suites

Address: 556 Sherbourne St, Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isabella Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Isabella Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing