We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #11 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have only been to Toronto twice but both times I have stayed in the Drake Hotel. It was recommended to me by a fellow Canadian friend, and I'm so glad I took her advice because it has become my favorite hotel to stay in. Super cool decor, awesome chic rooms and a fantastic staff. Alan is the gentleman that checked me in for both of my stays and was absolutely wonderful, and made sure everything I needed was taken care of. And a guy named Chris checked me out and he was wonderful as well. Very accommodating. I had a question about one of my charges and he made sure everything was correct and I wasn't being charged anything extra. All in all just a really great staff. Plus it has so many things within the hotel to do. A rooftop bar, a side cafe, and underground club/lounge and a dining hall that turns into a happening spot on the weekends. There is always a line outside of the hotel to get in on those nights. And I would come back from wherever I had been, bypass the line and the staff would say "Welcome Home". So nice to hear :)

Room Tip: Because I traveled solo I stay in a room that's called a "Crash Pad". Its a smaller ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paigew31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 634 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Thank-you! We really enjoyed our stay. We are a family that loves to travel, and prefer a boutique hotel that offer unique decor, great food in the heart of cultural or arts district. (With shopping close by.) Drake nailed it all. Johnathan the front desk manager made us feel welcomed right away. Easy to deal with. We are looking forward to a return visit. only con the bathroom is a tad tiny, but I assume that is because the property was limited to what it could do given the age of the building. Very creative! Try the blueberry scones with mascarpone cheese, I'm still craving one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited for cultural events (dutring NXNE, T Film Festival etc) but never stayed before - was very happy with the experience. Check-in was great, very helpful chap even carried my bags (heavy - full of LPs) up the stairs (there is no lift). Room lovely, nice style with super comfy bed and nice bathroom facilities. One surprise was the degree they cater to perverts - list of porno DVDs to rent and all kinds of sex toys available to purchase. I say "perverts", I'm only jealous cos I was staying on my own! Would be a good place for a romantic stay for sure, and not only for that reason. The ambience is just really nice and charming. Only shortfall for me was check-out time is 11am, way too early, especially for the demographic the Drake is aimed at, who probably don't even get back to the room til 4am, and then not to sleep. I requested a "late check out" but that only meant 12 midday, like a normal hotel. Other than that - great experience and I will make sure I return - this time with a +1.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedarjet707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Once again Jonathan and the staff have made our trip to Toronto the Most fabulous of experiences! Arrived early on Sunday, left the bags at the desk and where quickly whisked upstairs to the skybar for half priced drinks before our assault on Queen Street. We stayed in a crash pad this time which was perfect for a one night stay, although we will always recommend the suite!

Room Tip: if you aren't planning on spending all your time in the room, then a crash pad is just like it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went to see the Stones show last night and stayed one in the Drake. We got there mid-afternoon and the place to be so refreshing compared to the sterile, non-descript environments in other hotels. The room was very well appointed and cleverly furnished. Cocktails in the lounge made you feel like it was the 40's. The food was inventive and great tasting. The evening was not a cheap date for sure but the value certainly matched the price. If have one complaint it would have to be the chaos in the cafe before the dinner hour. some of our food got to the table 5 minutes before our drinks, cutlery and napkins so by the time we ate it, it was cold....yet tasty. The caesar was watery although the sake was good and the beef maki was awesome but could have been served with an extra bowl of soy for the share. I think this is probably an anomali due to the fact that wedding party was checking in at the time....overall I would stay there again...this was a staycation that cost about as much as a vacation but personally I would much rather do this then sit on a beach for 5 days bored out of my skull! Nice job Drake....awesome night and sorry about the mattress on on the roof! jks

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was above the lounge and we were warned at time of booking and when we got the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcertHopperGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I couldn't have been happier with my and my girlfriend's stay at the Drake. We're both native Torontonians coming home from Los Angeles for a little work and a little vacation, which the Drake perfectly melded the two together. The room was as welcoming as staying at your own apartment, but in the city--the best area in the city at that. And despite it being west of central, it was a quick bike ride downtown and to the Island ferry for a bit of a retreat. Must mention the Caesars downstairs that we sipped on all day while stealing the super fast Wifi signal. Go Drake!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been there for two nights in May 2013. It is absolutely fabulous for going to the restaurant, lounge bar etc. They have concerts, some sort of disco etc. But there are a few rooms, very small and it is all old fashion (on purpose) but not so nice if staying at night.

All staff is young and committed and they have a smile in their faces. Compared to Europe is all good.

To understand this, the hotel desk is beneath the restaurant desk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PabloLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,666 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
721 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#7 of 137 in Toronto
839 reviews
West End
Gladstone Hotel
Gladstone Hotel
#17 of 137 in Toronto
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $195 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing