We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine drinks and dessert”
Review of Woods

Woods
Reserve with OpenTable
Woods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #321 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Divine drinks and dessert”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The service was exceptional from start to finish.
What made this dinner were the cocktails and dessert. The cocktails were unique, not too expensive, well-balanced and flavourful (despite being out of apple foam). The pavlova dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever had with a gorgeous presentation and even better taste. Highly recommend and will be coming back.

Others: The whole grain salad was earthy and great for a mild rainy summers evening. The pickerel was excellently seasoned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCXRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    30
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New restaurant - worth the visit”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Have been to Woods a couple of times for dinner - and really enjoyed the ambiance (great decor) and the food. Good variation and tastes - beautifully presented. We split appetizers and entrees and cannot pick a favourite - however the beef cheeks and the scallops are great as starters and as a main you cannot go wrong with either the chicken or the tuna.

Bruce (chef and owner) is there to greet his guests int he front of house to ensure that they have a great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cfelssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't tell anyone!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely genius ! from the Hostess to the end of the meal , very pleasant staff and helpful if you can not make up your mind about what to choice. We were 4 of us its was a business dinner and it was a truly professional experience. Food sublime and everyone love the decor very urban rustic chic! We hope to see this place lasting for many year. Thanks to the entire staff working on that evening you all make it a wonderful and gourmet experience.

Bravo!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claudinewebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good but expensive for lunch”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had a business Lunch at woods, the food was good not great, however i found it expensive. I think charging $22 for spaghetti and meatballs somewhat outrageous in this time of austerity. My business colleague found the Bison Burger dry. To take a client for lunch at this prices was a bit much. There are many other venues in this great city that offer good or better food than Woods at more reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 577Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant in Toronto”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited Woods on recommendation of a friend who had just had dinner at Woods the night before. We were not disappointed. Woods is located in a nice area right behind the King Edward hotel. Nice and quiet location. The interior has very clean lines with beautiful green accent pieces.

Service was impeccable and the staff seemed to be there always when needed.

I am a sucker for scallops so I had them as an appetizer. Three super-sized scallops that were done to perfection; nicely seared on the outside and still buttery on the inside. Accompanied with a parsnip puree it was the perfect starter for me. We were with a party of 6 and 2 others chose the scallops and were equally impressed. We ordered a few orders of duck poutine for the table. While I am not a huge poutine fan this was quite nice; potato wedges with very nice and fresh cheese curds and shredded duck in its sauce. Other favorites were the tartar and carpaccio.

I had a hard time picking my main course. I love tuna so I settled on that. Turned out to be an excellent choice. Pan-seared, rare and seasoned to perfection on a bed of lentils and tomato. In our group no one was disappointed with their choices.

I am diabetic so stayed away from the deserts. Our group ordered different deserts and were more than pleased with their choices.

I will be back for sure and see how Woods will develop over time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woods also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing