We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Kensington Krawl Food Tour- Excellent!

My husband and I just finished our Kensington Krawl food tour with Cindy as our guide. When I tell... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
ERosie87
,
Atlanta, Georgia
via mobile
Kensington Market Food Tour - Everything Old Is New Again

Cindy, our Savour Toronto guide, met us at the entrance to Jimmy's Coffee Shop on Baldwin Street in... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
Kenneth C
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Read all 358 reviews
  
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
329
27
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
329
27
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kensington krawl food tour west tour food stops great tour le tour belgian waffles highly recommend this tour kensington market area great relationship meat locker our tour guide come hungry tortas gourmet popcorn shop owners global cheese
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 357 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just finished our Kensington Krawl food tour with Cindy as our guide. When I tell you this food tour was PERFECT, I am not exaggerating! We started by meeting Cindy at Jimmy’s coffee and then we were able to walk around to several food places in the Kensington market trying everything from fresh baked bread, Mexican Tortas, Belgium waffles and Gourmet Popcorn! And that’s not even the full list of places we went to. Trust me when I say this is a lot of food and you will be full even before the tour ends. My husband and I skipped breakfast because we thought we’d be hungry during the tour but instead we were stuffed! The portions were perfect sized and everything was delicious. Cindy was an excellent tour guide and she shared so much great information with us. She was funny and informative and made sure we were well taken care of! We’ve done food tours in other cities, but this one by far tops the list! Thanks so much!

Thank ERosie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this fabulous review! We are so glad you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" with Cindy and liked all the food on the tour. Skipping breakfast before the Krawl was a great idea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Cindy, our Savour Toronto guide, met us at the entrance to Jimmy's Coffee Shop on Baldwin Street in the Kensington Market district of Toronto, ON. It was a perfect early fall day. Cindy suggested we get a beverage while we waited for the rest of our group to arrive. "But don't eat!" There's plenty of food on the tour. That was the first of many sage bits of advice that Cindy would offer during our tour.
Once all the participants had arrived, Cindy joined us on the patio at the rear of Jimmy's, a quiet oasis in the middle of a bustling neighborhood. She outlined the tour agenda, gave us a brief history of her experience and had us introduce ourselves, after which we headed for our first stop, Blackbird Baking Co. Cindy outlined the history of the bakery, including the fact that one of its bread "starters" was in the bread starter library in Belgium, and then we got to taste a whole grain sourdough and a plum danish. The danish was to die for and the bread was moist and tasty with a crunchy crust. After a little history lesson on some of the residential aspects of the market area, our next stop was at the Global Cheese Shoppe on Kensington Avenue. Here we sampled three cheeses, an award winning local product, a smokey, apple flavored cheddar and a soft, white, mild goat cheese. Cindy talked about the history of Global and we checked out the deli products and chatted with staff, who offered us samples of other cheese delicacies.
We then made our way to Sanagan's Meat Locker. Conrad and Cindy talked about the history of the shop and the methods used to source products, prepare deli options in-house and contribute to the local community. Here we were treated to some "homemade" English pork pie, two deli meat options and a local goat cheese. It was all delicious.
We then crossed the street for our next stop at Torteria San Cosme, a mexican "pannini" shop that specializes in these Mexican treats. Our Milanese tortas featured crispy fried chicken, tomato, avocado and Chipotle sauce with chihuahua cheese on a toasted custom made bun. This was one of the best sandwiches I've ever tasted and that makes San Cosme a must stop if you are at the market and hungry.
After a short digestion inducing walk and some additional local history lessons we concluded our tour with visits to Carlo's Spice House, Wafels and More, CXBO Chocolates and the Toronto Popcorn Company. These stops were distinguished by their sensory impact. The smells, tastes and visual components of these establishments were amazing. Wafels (correct spelling) and CXBO are best in class in the city, no question!
The Savour Toronto Kensington Market food tour was an amazing three hours and Cindy was not only a wealth of knowledge and quick to offer recommendations for beer sources and seafood options but she was also a personable, friendly, fun to be with person who made us all feel like valued guests in her neighborhood.
It was a great way to rediscover an old neighborhood in my city. Thanks Savour Toronto!

1  Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you so much for this incredible review! It means a lot to us that you took the time to write such a detailed recap of your experience on your "Kensington Krawl". We are really glad you enjoyed all the tastes, smells and sights that Kensington Market has to offer. Thank you so much for the personal compliments! It was really nice to read them and I had a great time with you and your group! - Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Cindy met us at the front door to Jimmy's, a coffee shop on Baldwin Street in The Kensington Market district of Toronto, ON. Cindy was our Savour Toronto food tour guide. It was a sunny Thursday morning in September, the perfect kind of day to discover an old Toronto neighbourhood, again. She suggested we grab a beverage of our choice and explore Jimmy's until the rest of our tour group arrived. "Don't eat anything" she advised. That was the first of several bits of very good advice that Cindy dispensed over the course of our time together.
When our group had arrived, Cindy joined us on the back patio at Jimmy's, a quiet oasis in the middle of this bustling part of downtown. She outlined our schedule for the next three hours and introduced us to her background and how she finds herself conducting food tours. After some introductions from the group members we were off to our first stop, Blackbird Baking Co. There we were treated to some delicious whole grain sourdough bread and an exceptional plum danish while hearing the story of the bakery and how the owner's sourdough bread starter finds itself in the world bread starter museum in Belgium. Our next stop was in a quiet laneway. Cindy talked more about the history of Kensington and showed us some of the quaint residential buildings that have survived in the market. From there we went to the Global Cheese Shoppe on Kensington Avenue. This family owned and operated business has been a fixture in the market area for decades. Here we tasted three cheeses, an award winning Ontario cheese, a smoked apple cheddar and a mild, very white goat cheese. The friendly staff offered up some additional taste treats and chatted with our tour guests about the business prior to our departure. From there, we paid a visit to Sanagan's Meat Locker. Conrad, our host, explained the origins of Sanagan's, how they source their meat, how their deli products are produced and the connection between the community and the butcher shop. We were then treated to individual servings of English pork pie and two types of in-house deli meat. All three were very delicious and we returned later in the day to purchase some meat for home consumption.
From Sanagan's we took the short walk across the street to Torteria San Cosme. This Mexican "tortas" fast food outlet sells what amount to Mexican pannini. Our sample was the Milanesa topped with chihuahua cheese. It was delicious, with the crunch of the fried chicken and the slight heat from the chipotle sauce and the perfect bun, lightly toasted and warm to the touch. If you are ever at the market and feeling a hunger pang, San Cosme is a great option. After another walk through the neighbourhood with more facts about some of the landmarks and characters that have made Kensington famous, we ended our tour with visits to Carlo's Spice House, Wafels & More, CXBO Chocolates and the Toronto Popcorn Company. These final four visits were a sensory storm, each visit filled with smells and tastes that had us constantly looking for new adjectives to describe what we were experiencing. Wafels (the spelling is correct) & More and CXBO Chocolates are definitely "best in class" eateries in the city and probably beyond and the Spice House (besides being a shrine to the Chicago Blackhawks) and the Popcorn Company provide more flavours than you could imagine in their respective categories.
Cindy, our Savour Toronto host, was knowledgeable, friendly and, besides knowing the tour partners, was more than happy to provide additional information, like where to find the best breweries and pubs to where to shop for awesome seafood. It was a completely amazing early autumn midday experience which provided me with a brief history of this old Toronto landmark while exposing me to the new (and old) community members that are breathing new life into this gem of a neighbourhood.

2  Thank kcousineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

We are completely wowed by this amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed and positive review of your "Kensington Krawl". We are so glad you enjoyed all your tastings and that we were able to give you such a memorable experience. It is a shame that Carlos wasn't at the spice shop because I'm sure he would have loved meeting a fellow Chicago Blackhawks fan.
Thank you so much for the personal compliments! I hope you were able to enjoy some of the breweries I suggested as well. It was nice meeting you and your group! - Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

I would highly recommend the Kensington food tour. Camilo was a friendly, approachable, knowledgeable guide and the food choices were great; there was a little bit of everything. It was also nice to be introduced to the delicious and local food places of the area.

Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" experience with Camilo and the tastings we offered. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

the tour was as expected and on time. the market was nice and interesting and i feel we got the feeling of the area and the atmosphere. The tasting were fine and enough - bread, cheese, meat, Mexican, Belgian wafer & pop-corn. including history of the place and the people and the timeline. Thank you

Thank Eyal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are glad you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Kensington Market was one of the most beautiful, artsy, creative neighborhoods I've ever seen. Our tour from Cindy was incredible, she had a deep knowledge of the food scene and historical significance of the neighborhood. My girlfriend and I left feeling like we were one of the locals knowing the ins and outs of Kensington and went back the next day for breakfast. A full long weekend in Toronto and I would say this was the best part of the trip. Highly recommend to anyone who loves food and history,

1  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! We are so glad glad you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" with Cindy. It's very flattering to hear that this was the best part of your trip and we are really happy that you went back to the market a second time for breakfast since there is always more to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Very nice food. Well informed guide. Good value. Would recommend this tour as a great way to see parts of the market that you might not see otherwise.

Thank Gonzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" with us and that you would recommend it. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Beautiful tour of Toronto's food scene and heritage. The tour was very well organized, food was enjoyable. Our tour guide Camilo was very knowledgeable, friendly and passionate. Highly recommend this tour.

Thank Monis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" with Camilo, he is a great asset to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

My son & I found this a very interesting and enjoyable experience. Learning the history of the places we had tastings at and walking around the neighbourhood, lets you see a side of Toronto that most people do not relate to. My son lives in the area and he loved it. The food was delicious, we were so full that we did not have to have any supper. Great way to spend the afternoon. We can't wait to do another one!

Cheryl - St. Catharines, Ontario

Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

We are so glad to hear you and your son enjoyed our "Best of the West" tour and saw a different side of Toronto with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review for us. We hope to see you both again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our Kensington Market food tour! Cindy did an awesome job sharing the history and cuisine of the market and keeping our short attention span group together and engaged! The waffles were particularly scrumptious. We would have never gone in some of the places Cindy took us and we would have missed out! Highly recommend the tour and Cindy!

Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavourTO, Guest Relations Manager at Savour Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review and photo! We are so glad you enjoyed your "Kensington Krawl" with Cindy, she is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about food in Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews