We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jazz”

Jazz Bistro Toronto
Ranked #427 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: International, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great jazz”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Recently in town for event and visited the Jazz Bistro for a show. We greatly enjoyed the music and venue. Our service was very attentive and polite. The servers did a great job of moving quickly and effectively through the space as not to obstruct your view. Enjoyed our food, and drinks.
But the blonde host (manager or owner) was pretty sour upon introducing the band and speaking, seemed to be the only person not enjoying it. Understandably it is difficult to have everyone's complete silence during a performance in a restaurant environment but that IS the nature of that venue. We would definitely return to enjoy the music again.

Helpful?
Thank zenfish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    54
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcome addition”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went to the Jazz Bistro with a girl friend before going to a show at the Ed Mirvish Theatre. It is directly across the street on Victoria, and that was why we chose it. What a wonderful surprise!! It has been lovingly remodelled since the Top of the Senator days into an inviting, smart 2 level restaurant/ performance venue. We obviously did not stay for the jazz, but plan to return, for sure. We both had the small fillet, and it compared favourably with any in the city.
While the tables are bistro close, the servers manage with aplomb.
The third floor is a beautiful space - both indoor and the patio - very relaxed. I can't wait to go and spend a whole evening there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy_wandererCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Quaint fun great patio”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

By fluke we found this place after seeing a play at Ed Mirvish. We had drinks and apps on the 3rd floor patio. Very comfortable, classy yet relaxed atmosphere. Salsa is awesome!! It's a three floor building and a little but of everything on each floor. Go before the show, after the show or for a relaxed evening. A great little jem!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnydazesunnydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pre-Theatre Brunch”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

A friend and I stopped in here before a theatre production at the Ed Mirvish Theatre. It is directly across the street, so the location is perfect! I had the baked omelette with asparagus and goat cheese - this comes with a baby greens salad. It was tasty, plus the portion was quite large. I ordered an orange juice to go with it. It was less than a cup of juice, and it tasted like orange drink. I was disappointed, and was quite surprised when the bill came and it was $5!! Do NOT order the orange juice! My friend had the french toast with blueberry compote, maple mascarpone emulsion and toasted almonds. Again, she was happy with her meal and the portion was large. The best part of brunch here is that they bring fresh scones to your table, free of charge. (perhaps that is why the oj is so expensive) When we were leaving, some musicians were getting ready to perform. I think this would be a nice spot to watch some jazz and I may try coming here for brunch again in the future. I wish I could give this restaurant a 3.5/5 instead I gave it a 3.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Superheroalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious French onion soup”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I went with a group of 20+ people on a Thursday night. Was not very hungry but wanted to try some things so ordered the French onion soup and spring rolls. Soup was exceptional and spring rolls were good.i heard that the kale salad was delicious. We were fortunate to hear about 30 minutes of the jazz group's performance and it was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PerlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazz Bistro Toronto also viewed

 

Been to Jazz Bistro Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing