We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic food. Quick and great service.”
Review of Finn McCool's

Finn McCool's
Ranked #1,841 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Irish
Neighborhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West End
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic food. Quick and great service.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Every time I order the Shepard's Pie here I get the basic dish. The beer on tap is excellent and the servers get you in and get you out as you're at an airport. The menu has changed over the years and now you pay for what you get. Dessert is limited selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluewater08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    24
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mediocre to average at best pub food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Not much else to choose from at Pearson and I guess they know. Very poor to possibly close to average food at best. Most of these Pub in a box places at least you know how to pull a proper Guinness. Here that was not the case I think when this place is busy which is always you're just not getting food that is good. Had the avocado burger and the avocado was awful. Asked for well done fries and got soggy fries that were cold. Even after I sent them back they were still soggy. waiter was good but have the sense that busy kitchen staff don't give a damn.

Helpful?
Thank roadworreorfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad pub food”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed the visit here for lunch and later evening drinks.

Lunchtime food was good for a pub but a little overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANC-IBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rainy day”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took refuge for a rai storm here, and it was great. The staff if pleasant and great, the food is tasty and well done and the beer selection was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bristol96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ns
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“fast service, nice pub, food OK”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Convenient location in the airport, long line up but attendents were quick to clear tables and sit people. Service was fast and friendly. Reallly liked the atmosphere - but I am partial to Irish pubs. Clean and efficient. The food was only OK, but I might have just picked the wrong food for my personal taste (the gravy was made with Guinness beer) - but the dessert was other worldy: had the chocolate volcano. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn McCool's also viewed

 

Been to Finn McCool's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing