We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, great atmosphere”

Rock Lobster Food Co
Ranked #2,705 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
TORONTO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

i really enjoyed my experience at Rock Lobster Food Co. It was a tad pricey but i guess that what you pay for lobster, the lobster cesar was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MELISSA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    24
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good lobster, good drinks but noisy and overcrowded.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great cocktails, super friendly bar staff & hostess. The place is however tiny and super loud. You'll definitely get to know your neighbors!

Lobster roll was great (kudos on the McClure's pickle!), the lobster cappucinno however was way too rich. Service was decent. Ok for a quick bite but not for any type of evening where you wish to have any type of conversation or privacy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank genevieve1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is located in a very upcoming area of the city with several wonderful restaurants. One of our favourites continues to be Foxley but there's plenty to selection. A few colleagues recommended Rock Lobster but they underwhelmed our group. On a positive note, their prices are very reasonable. The bisque for $6 seemed fairly priced but lack flavour. The same could be said for the Mac and Cheese. The lobster roll is the house specialty and it was pretty could but again, didn't seem to have much flavour. Portions were a good size. Wait staff was friendly but inexperienced. It took them just short of 10 minutes to find us pepper. We were told we would be seated in half an hour but it took them over an hour. It just wasn't worth it. Please be aware that they do not accept reservations so be prepared to wait. Most of the seating accommodates couples. The pickle that accompanies the lobster roll was one of the best I ever had. I probably would have only given them 2/5 if it wasn't for that pickle. Avoid the Mac and Cheese and maybe try the poutine or simply go for the fresh seafood tower. With so much choice on Ossington, we all agreed we wouldn't return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, great seafood and superb service on Ossington”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A busy Saturday evening but no wait at all, maybe because it was early, but super friendly staff and excellent lobster in all kinds of way. An outstanding lobster bloody caesar, wine by the ounce, amazing lobster poutine and superb lobster rolls. All topped off by a yummy dessert. Great food for a good price served by really efficient friendly wait staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuefromAjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Lobster Food Co also viewed

 

Been to Rock Lobster Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing