We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All You Can Eat”
Review of Bikkuri

Bikkuri
Ranked #1,163 of 8,576 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
716 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“All You Can Eat”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Bikkuri is a good option for those who like All You Can Eat Sushi. While they limit the amount of sashimi you can have, they have plenty of sushi and other rolls, as well as fried options that you can choose.

Most things here really do seem fresh. However, there are times when there is a bit of an MSG aftertaste or when a roll might taste a bit on the average side.

Service here is only average. In the whirr of getting food out, they sometimes bring the wrong things to your table. They are also slow with refills.

While there are better sushi options, Bikkuri is great on price if you are very hungry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best sushi in Toronto”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice place and staff, fresh fish and tasty sushi. I particularly like the sashimi dinner, it's nothing like other sashimis plate thtat I had. Fare price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMary_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“A 3.5, Bikkuri is pretty good, needs a little attention to service...”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bikkuri is a nice quick place to grab a lunch with some colleagues without breaking the bank. Their recent remodelling looks sharp and gives the restaurant a classier and more elegant feel, yet the prices have not been noticeably increased. Located just east of Victoria on King Street, Bikkuri offers very fresh sushi and bento box specials for lunch. The sushi was commented by colleague as very fresh and tasty. My beef teriyaki was filling and delicious. I really enjoyed the salad dressing, it allowed me to coat my rice in the salad dressing, that's how it was. I have been here at least a half a dozen times and the only thing that is a bit bothersome is the service can be a tad on the slow side. It took almost ten minutes from the time we got seated until someone took our order, which when you have to get back to work is not an acceptable amount of time. Overall though, Bikkuri will continue to be my go to Japanese lunch spot around Yonge and King for its solid and tasty offerings at good prices!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hoping to find a "gem" ...only to be disappointed”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had dinner at Bikkuri Japanese restaurant last Friday as it was located across The King Edward hotel where we were staying.

I was hoping to find a hidden gem of a restaurant just like the Zen Restaurant but I was totally disappointed.

We had the Bento dinner - Chicken teriyaki. The miso soup served before the main course was bland. The teriyaki taste like it was just boiled. The sauce had the consistency of a plum sauce and taste like one too. The Tempura was good and they gave a good slice of squash with it. The California roll was OK.

I would have rated this average except for the fact that the sauce spoiled the entire chicken dinner.

I did like the location , the layout and décor of the restaurant.....if only the food is better.! Service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iscafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bikkuri also viewed

 
 

Been to Bikkuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing