We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes me miss Japan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zakkushi

Zakkushi
Ranked #464 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Makes me miss Japan”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Yakitori PLUS! In Japan (imo) most yakitori places specialize in grilled chicken and excel at it. They tend to focus on chicken only. Some north american asian restaurants have a version of yakitori on their menu in addition to a bunch of other menus items and the focus is not on chicken. This restaurant (imo) replicates the authentic yakitori experience in Japan as I experienced it personally. In addition there are many other izikaya type items on the menu that are excellent as well. The drinks are excellent and the staff very friendly especially if you try to say even two words of japanese to them. Make a reservation in advance otherwise you will have a long wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2012Toronto2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just as good as Vancouver”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Zakkushi was one of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver, so when I heard that they were opened a new store on Carlton, I was thrilled! I went the first week when they didn't have their liquor license yet, but returned after with a large party few weeks shortly after. Their food quality, atmosphere and service is almost identical to their Vancouver stores. LOVE this place! Every staff member is always smiling and very helpful (although you might have to repeat your order sometimes since their English isn't perfect). The skewers and the hot dishes were all done really well. Like any other izakayas, remember to make a reservation because the line does get long and if you do, its restrained to a 2 hour seating limit (which I find was not too strict). And as you would expect, the atmosphere is really warm and loud, so I wouldn't say its an ideal place for a romantic first date, but its very fun!There was birthday in our group so we ordered some desserts and I asked our waitress to just put a candle in it just as a birthday cake, the whole staff came out to sing happy birthday and got the whole restaurant singing as well. Definitely a great experience and HIGHLY recommend it to all of you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamz_TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Grilled skewers of meat and fish. All delicious”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Many varieties all cooked fresh for you. Pork stuffed with quail eggs was wonderful. About 30 different skewers. Rice cakes cooked fresh too. Service delightful. Call to reserve, very popular. Great for groups or couples.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 466Richard789466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
365 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“ZAKKUSHI ON CARLTON - JAPANESE FOOD CULTURE CENTRAL”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I are die-hard 'Yakitori' fans but after leaving Japan and coming home to TO for 20 years or so, we never expected that one day we will find our 'true love' - a REAL JAPANESE YAKITORI IZAKAYA with food grilled/cooked over binchotan, the prized japanese charcoal. This 3-month old restaurant is beautifully designed liken to a Ninja Castle with an open kitchen to the back full of expert yakitori chefs working in full steam hovering over the binchotan grill with their special TLC. All the grilled food are perfectly prepared and executed;the servers are very pleasant and efficient;the price is unbelievably reasonable and the atmosphere is most genuinely jovial, friendly and loud. Every details of the restaurant are paid with special attention even down to the bathrooms which are also a must on the list to experience. Do make a reservation and comply to the 2-hr dining rule.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zakkushi also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Zakkushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing