We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavourful”
Review of Sabai Sabai Kitchen and Bar - MOVED

Sabai Sabai Kitchen and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Sabai Sabai Kitchen & Bar serves up deliciously authentic tapas style dishes from Northern Thailand and Laos in a relaxed, cool and casual setting. Enjoy Asian inspired cocktails and popular dishes such as crispy fried fish with tamarind sauce or the signature Khao Soi noodles with a cold BeerLao at the only restaurant in Canada exclusively importing this Laotian favourite.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flavourful”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was caught off guard when I tried the tom ka soup as rich flavours burst inside my mouth. The taste of tamarind, lemongrass, cilantro and kafir leaves were very distinct yet seemed to be in a perfect balance. The creamy coconut milk was the perfect base for this soup. I would be glad to have one big bowl of that soup for my entire meal.

I also ordered the crispy fish with tamarind sauce for my main. It was also good but my taste buds was longing for more tom ka soup. I would reverse the order next time and start with the crispy fish then finish it with tom ka soup.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    73
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“First Time Having Thai”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My best friend took me here for my first Thai restaurant meal. The food was so delicious - hot and very flavourful! We got the green papaya salad, green fish curry, beef salad, stir fry eggplant and a side of brown rice. The staff was very tenantive and gave us excellent recommendations. It was a busy place with a great atmosphere - cool music which was not too loud! Would 100% recommend to a friend, who has eaten a lot of Thai food (like my best friend) or someone like myself who has never been before! Bravo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyCampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Porcupine, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere & Great Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have visited Sabai Sabai three times - most recently twice within the last week. I have had great experiences at this restaurant. The atmosphere is lively and fun, and I love the tapas sharing style. I wouldn't exactly call myself a Thai food expert (however I have travelled before in Thailand) however, I would have to say that I find the food to be flavourful and delicious. Nice choices on the menu. We really enjoyed a couple of Thai curries, the papaya and beef salads, and the eggplant dish. Actually it is the best eggplant dish I have ever tasted. Service is good and friendly. I also appreciate how this restaurant has interesting LOCAL wine selections and was surprised to see one of my favourite small wineries in NOTL called "Between the Lines" featured at a reasonable price point. Will definitely return and my out-of-town guests were both very impressed. Thanks Sabai Sabai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and ambience”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We dined there 11 July. The food and service were great. We had been in Toronto one week and this was the best meal and best value that we had experienced. Getting carried away by the moment we booked the next night. We came back on 12 July (our last night in town) and ordered totally different items off the menu and it was as good if not better than the previous night. Diners you will not be disappointed but you best book as they were queuing for tables as we came out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billypenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barichara, Colombia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“small venue on church, just below dundas - good thai choice”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

if you have a small appetite but good taste buds, you will not be disappointed - i went solo, so i ate at the bar and i ordered soup and their veggies side orders: three of them, and it was a decent meal, good savors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marx-engels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabai Sabai Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing