We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of JOEY Yorkdale

JOEY Yorkdale
Ranked #362 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North York
Description: Shop. Sip. Savour. JOEY Yorkdale is inspired by a modern industrial design concept and our globally sourced cuisine. Have a cocktail in the main floor lounge or take the glass elevator to the dining area on the upper floor.
Toronto
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

As places like Kelsey's, Jack Astor's etc. continue to wallow in the world of high calories, high fat and outrageously high prices, Joey's is certainly trying hard to raise the bar for chain restaurants. I've been a couple of times to the Don Mills location and each time has been very good. Good selection of healthy and indulgent food....I've had the Fish Tacos both occasions which were excellent. Service is friendly and efficient from smart, black-clothed young women, seating is comfortable (we sat in the bar area) and the prices are about what you'd expect. On a Tuesday lunchtime they were packed, and this is a big place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    37
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Franchise Restaurant in Toronto”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The atmosphere is quite trendy, modern, and catered to the young crowd. Joey is a great alternative with an asian inspired fusion menu that is sure to satisfy the most picky of foodies. I had the mushroom soup - flavourful and seasoned perfectly. Hint of sherry. Chicken and ribs - chicken is their signature dish and ribs were fall off the bone. I would visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aclj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Worth Another Try”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stopped off for a quick dinner and had heard of this restaurant at Yorkdale. It is on the west side of the mall facing Dufferin St and can only be accessed from outside. Once inside it is a huge property with two levels of dining. We arrived without a reservation and were seated quite promptly. The menu is quite large with lots of choice. We had a fairly detailed discussion with one of the wait staff and he explained their signature rotisserie chicken. When we had listened carefully to what he said we decided to order the roast chicken and BBQ ribs as we were to get 1/2 chicken, plus half order of ribs. Seemed pretty good deal to us since the roast chicken entrée was only $4 less expensive and gave you 1/2 chicken. When our meal arrived it came with half ribs and 1/4 chicken which was not what we had ordered. When we got the bill after they had brought us another 1/4 chicken to make up for their error they had added $5 to each of our bills. After a quiet word to the manager that was corrected and off we went. I chalk this up to poorly trained wait staff or wait staff in too much of a hurry to spend time learning all their menu items but I will still be back as the food was very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just awful!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

From the disjointed staff to the mediocre food, this place is much more of a bar than a restaurant. The service is awkward and the staff don't seem to be trained very well. The rotisserie chicken tasted like leftovers. If you are looking for a nice place to have dinner, this isn't it. If your going out with friends for a drink and maybe some finger food, then maybe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
411 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good choices and good service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Joey's is always busy. Its location at the Eaton Centre, Ryerson Central and across from the Atrium ensures that. Before it even opened, there was a buzz that predicted its success. And in a way, that success is deserved. The food is good, well prepared and verges on the trendy. My Bajo Fish Tacos are always just right and the hot sauce gives them a nice heat. My husband's chicken with fries is also very good, perfectly rotisserie bistro style. Not an eater of dark meat, he proclaims it is delicious. What impresses most is the lost attitude of customer care and concern. The multitude of servers who come to your table are unfailingly nice,really.We appreciate it. Although there are televisions at the bar tuned to sports events, the feeling of the rest of the restaurant is dark, intimate, untouched by the noise of the tubes. i like that. Usually there is a wait for a table but as I say, they are so accommodating and pleasant at Joey's, the time flies and when you are served, you can relax. My rating might be higher for the food ;however, when you compare it to Zucca or Mistera, there is quite a gap, but then Joey's doesn't pretend to cater to a dinner that lasts for several hours. It is a good choice with good food and great servers and we will go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JOEY Yorkdale also viewed

 

Been to JOEY Yorkdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing