We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, One of Toronto's Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patria

Patria
Ranked #91 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $3 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: King and Spadina
Transit: Access via street car on King street
Description: Patria "The Homeland " Patria is a restaurant born out the idea of the lifestyle and soul of the Spanish culture. A country rich in tradition of dedication to artisanal cuisine and wines displayed in the Boquerias and Tapas bars throughout each region. The menu will be an authentic representation of the rustic styles, sourced from the highest quality of available products from Spain and Ontario. The wines have been selected to compliment the vast diversity in cuisine, and promote the finest producers the country has to offer.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, One of Toronto's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent food and great atmosphere. The many dishes we ordered were delicious and the desserts were exceptional. At times, I thought I had been transported to my childhood. Special praise is reserved for the pork belly stew with duck fat brioche, which was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. The only drawback was that we did not have enough time to order one of the paellas. Nevertheless, I will definitely go to Patria again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvsiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    102
    33
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
551 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Poorly executed Patria paella”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Patria is hard to find since it is hidden on a side street it took us a while to find it. Signage is poor.
We ordered the croquetas manchego, croquetas jam on, all executed like cheese sticks in shape, clearly lacking in content and taste, with too much breading. Chorizo looked more like a cold sliced platter salami, not the real spanish chorizo from ESPANA, and not grilled. All the pan- just french bread with ham and oil on it, tough bread; pan de serrano is a baked loaf with slices of succulent serrano ham, boiled egg y otro queso. We had dates with fried iberico ham, it was more like date jam and not a whole date. Paella de Patria( takes 1 hour) comes in a flat bottom paella pan ( very salty) with meagre portions on langoustines ( it was even cut in half ), 1 or 2 shrimps pieces, some fish ,mussels, peas, very dry rice and again no taste. Portions are minuscule and paltry.
Basically this was real below par tapas and paella.
I grew up in Madrid and Patria is a far cry from from the real thing if not insulting.
Wish where was something positive since this was recommended but no light at the end of the tunnel. Too bad, I do love a good paella and potato- patatas dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank conjuror88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“True Spanish Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great Spanish restaurant. A bit loud and dark, but with great personality and bones. The service is good and attentive but a bit pushy with the drinks. The food is very good and the paella that we ordered was excellent. As advertised, the Estrella Damm Beer was superb. Be careful ordering too many plates. The bill adds up very fast. Not cheap but worth the visit. Great place to friends, couples and business group. Will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The food is tasty and the service is very good, I would have loved seeing more raw seafood on the menu like Spanish sardines or Oysters, I would go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John51266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were looking for a restaurant close to the theatre we were going to that night and we came across Patria. Since most of us in our party had never experienced a tapas style restaurant we thought we'd give it a try.

Once our server realized that we didn't know what to order, he asked our likes, dislikes, and any allergies we may have and said he would choose and bring out plates that he thought we may like. Plates started arriving with salads, cheeses, serrano ham, flatbread, shrimp, potatoes, steak, and to finish scrumptious churros. I know there were more plates that I have forgotten but everything was absolutely delicious. There was nothing that we didn't like.

We had an excellent server who made really good choices for us and was very friendly and professional as well. We would definitely return to Patria in the future. It's a little hard to find as it is down an alley way, but really worth the hunt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patria also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Patria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing