We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to find a place where care for the product is evident”
Review of Santouka Ramen

Santouka Ramen
Ranked #263 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice to find a place where care for the product is evident”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Soups and gyoza were awesome. Also the service was part of the show. Very efficient and loud web someone entered or left the premises all would welcome and then salute those coming and going.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericpianar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    53
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ehc505
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Tasty, a bit salty”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Authentic Japanese Ramen noodle shop with native Japanese speakers. This pleased my native Japanese speaker father immensely!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ehc505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Ramen places in Toronto”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Don't get discouraged by the line-ups, they actually move pretty fast. I love their spicy ramen with the fish egg rice bowl. The soup is pretty salty but still tastes really good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yuqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lot of hype, average experience.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was super excited about trying this place out based on all the hype.

I had gyoza and a small pork soup. It was delicious.

The menu is rather limited (imho), and kinda pricey for what you get. The place was packed though and the service was friendly and efficient.

Overall, I'm happy I checked this place out, but it's not somewhere I feel compelled to return to over and over again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best ramen so far in TO”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I always thought the ramen at kanto was good. But I like the soup at this place marginally better. But I think the portion and the presentation is not as good. And the meat at kanto was a bit better. But for me, the soup is the trumping factor for ramen. So, this place is now my favourites ramen place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avonord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santouka Ramen also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Santouka Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing