We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Dim Sum hot spot in Chinatown!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Chinese Cuisine

Rosewood Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #2,791 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden Dim Sum hot spot in Chinatown!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

If you are available for dim sum during the weekdays( M-F) then give this two story restaurant in the middle of Chinatown a try.
Dim sum is fresh and hot since you order what you want by checking off the items from a picture menu.
Best surprise is when you receive the bill... It's all the same price for each item !!!
(During the week only)
My Fav is the steamed chicken feet(not something anyone has the time or energy to make at home), or the shrimp roll.. With lots of fresh shrimps that are actually deveined !
The Rosewood wood trim of the restaurant inspires its namesake , very chic but not overly pretentious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank george_e555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Our new "go-to" All day Dim Sum place !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have been looking for a new Dim Sum place in Toronto's Chinatown to replace our "regular" one that has changed hands and sadly subsequently deteriorated. Rosewood looks mighty fine as the successor at this point ! It is located on Dundas between Spadina and Hurontario - the façade/entrance is pulled back from the street so one might miss it if not on the outlook for it. It has a very large modern chandelier that is visible from the street and the interior continues to surprise pleasantly with nice stone and onyx tile work. The restaurant has an upper level which would allow for a more private experience if one were to prefer that. Tea is served promptly and is of good quality. Dim Sum menu comes with the usual order slip but also with a laminated menu showing a small picture of each dish - which was helpful for us when we selected our items. We chose 5 items and they arrived within 10 minutes - steaming hot and appetizing. The best was the crab wrapped in seaweed, lightly battered and deep fried. The shrimp dumplings were a bit overdone but the shrimp were plump and juicy. Angus Beef Shui Mai was a first and was awesome, Beef rice rolls were to die for. Our 5 items came to just under 18$ and we were full and left happy. Ask for chili oil and dark and light soy - condiments are not on the table but the Dim Sum come with little dishes of something that tastes like Worcestershire sauce. We need oil, soy and cherry vinegar with Dim Sum ! This place offers Dim Sum at the ridiculously cheap price of 2$ ( any item any size) before noon, Monday to Friday which makes for an ideal weekday brunch spot to meet a friend. We will be back to explore more Dim Sum and to try the regular menu for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No thank you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Chinatown to enjoy some oriental cuisine. We found a restaurant that apparently specializes in DimSum, but fails in customer service and lacks appetizing choices from the regular menu. We didn't want DimSum, and it took 20 minutes to get a menu , rather than a checksheet.After reminding the waitress to clean our table, being shuffled to a second table,and being served bland dishes--I did something I haven't done for probably 20 years--I didn't leave a tip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cheap - Cheerful & Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My Wife and I visited the Chinese Quarter of Toronto expecting to find lots of resturants eager for the tourist trade, not the case in this city. We stumbled upon Rosewood and gave it a try, there were plenty of locals eating there and I now know why. The food was the best Chinese we have ever had, it was not laced heavily with MSG, as you usually get in the UK, and was cooked to perfection. The waitress was very helpful even though english was not her strongpoint. Soup, main & complementary desert left us fit to burst but we thoroughly enjoyed every mouthfull. There is no alcohol on sale but we were served with lashings of green tea which was very refreshing. We had to take a double look at our final bill, it was so cheap! If you are happy to dispense with tablecloths, candles and fine wine you must dine here - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Busy for Good Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I love the Dim Sum at Rosewood. Happy hour the small, medium and large Dim Sum are all $1.88 each Mondays to Fridays until 11am. I love the Steamed Beef Rice Rolls and like their other dumplings are a really good size and tasty. Though the staff are always busy serving customers I have no complaints about the service as they are very helpful and I am always able to get their attention.

Only complaint is the restaurant is a bit nosy because the place is so jam-packed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetraveller0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosewood Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Rosewood Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing