We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveler rating
1,081
193
66
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
193
66
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby loungebosk restaurantuniversity avenueroom ipadhealth clubone bedroom suitebeautiful hotelbathroom mirrornespresso machineroom serviceturn down servicefive star hotelin room diningpleasure of stayingcn towerhotel experiencesteam room
Filter
Updating list...
1,063 - 1,068 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

For the long holiday weekend, the thought was rather than travelling somewhere we would try a "staycation" type of long weekend. I'm very glad we made this choice. The stay was perfect. The property is beautiful and is both of a size and has enough to do for a proper staycation without feeling the need to go elsewhere. We did everything and everything was great. Dinner at Bosk was delicious and the service was great. We also had breakfast there, which was also great. We took in the lobby lounge at different times - once for High Tea and at other times for drinks, coffee or a snack. The atmosphere is great. Live piano playing or jazz singing is a great touch. Not to mention the lobby lounge is beautiful. We also took in the pool area and made use of the gym. We had a spa appointment which was a great way to spend a few hours on a Saturday afternoon - I've been to the other spas at the 5-stars in the city and I'm confident in saying you won't find a better one than this one. I can't say enough about the welcoming atmosphere and service from the staff. There were so many who made our stay great, but at the risk of singling someone out, I do have to mention Crystol in the Lobby Lounge. She was amazing and helpful and a great personality to deal with. The room we had was called an Executive King room and it was very nice, including a large bathroom with nice separate tub to soak in and watch some TV!

If you're looking for a getaway without having to getaway on a flight, I would highly recommend this experience. And you can make of it what you will and do how much you want to do. If you're visiting Toronto, this should definitely be on your list of choices.

Room Tip: The hotel seems very quiet and it was a busy weekend. We were on the 8th floor with no issues in terms of noise either from the inside or outside.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Davide P,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our executive room, in-room facilities, amenities and your meal at our signature restaurant, Bosk, added to your memorable experience. We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto and that our staff was able to go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had an amazing stay in the hotel over the long holiday weekend. The service, amenities, staff and decor are fantastic. Stayed in a corner suite with a lovely view of downtown. Rooms are well appointed with the latest technology and furnishings. Super bathroom. Large rooms for a big city hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raf823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Raf823,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to know you had a wonderful overall experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in all areas of the hotel – service, guest suite, in-room facilities, amenities and live music, and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of the city with excellent service and staff. In the evening the hotel always had some entertainment going on which was always nice to come back from dinner or being out and have a nite cap.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the CN tower in view
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wiljor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Wiljor,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge, live music and amenities. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service and make their stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Every detail has been thought of in this hotel! It was by far the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in. The service is excellent the decor is stunning! Clean rooms, the bathrooms are gorgeous! you wont be disappointed if you stay here. The restaurant, BOSK had a wonderful breakfast menu, I highly recommend dining there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Erin O,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto and your breakfast at our signature restaurant, Bosk. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I always read the reviews here before I reserve a room. I was so excited to celebrate my mothers birthday at this 5 star hotel. Just like another reviewer I received an email from guest services about adding my mothers name to the reservation so they could make sure since it was her birthday to know who to acknowledge. I chose this hotel because of its personal touches like most 5 stars, but they did nothing, not even a personal message to her. So what was the point of their email? My room could accommodate 4 ppl and we had 2. So maximum occupancy was not an issue. Secondly, the view was awful. I paid for a premier room. Some of the furniture looked worn, the beds were comfortable but the floor to ceiling windows was a joke. There was a huge protruding wall that separated the 2 windows. So the width of the window was about 3 feet wide and this huge wall was about 7 ft wide of nothing. Simply a waste. The cable was not working for approx. 30 mins and intermittently thereafter. I've never experienced that issue in a 3 star. The noise level is awful. You here all the sirens, horns, motorcycles, etc. Their in room dining options are very limited. On a good note, the bathroom is lovely, beds comfortable, and most, not all of staff was friendly. This place was not worth the money and I usually do not write reviews but felt compelled to do so. Please stay at Trump. Paying attention to details is what should set a 5 star hotel apart from the rest. This hotel missed the mark.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tallymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Dear Tallymom1
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our overall experience did not meet your expectations. We will make sure to share your comments about room service with our management team. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the very near future.
Sincerely
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews