We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri La Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Exceptional politeness and intelligence. Wonderful lap-pool, and very patient and personal service for breakfast and at the bar in the evening. Couldn't be better! I was due to stay at the Sheraton two weeks later and I cancelled and booked in here againl.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank bristolprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Bristolprof,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear you had an exceptional stay with us and enjoyed our Health Club facility, had an excellent dining experience and were pleased with our customer service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great hotel experience. Super efficient and friendly. In the heart of Toronto, easy access, great dining experience. Very comfortable bedroom and layout of the room. Comfortable pillows and high end bathroom.


Room Tip: None that I can think of
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Vikash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Vikash,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you had an overall great hotel experience, in particular the comfortable bedroom and high end bathroom. We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

As I write this review, I am still lounging in the comfy bed at the Shangri-La. This hotel is fabulous. As soon as we arrived, we were blown away by the service. The valet was kind and welcoming. The concierge was so helpful. The lobby of the hotel is great. Especially for people on business trips. It has many lounge tables with a warm and inviting fire place and live music every evening.
Everything they do here goes above and beyond what you would expect of customer service. My husband needed his shoes from his car, so what did they do? Deliver them to our room.
The health club is the best of any hotel health clubs I've seen in my travels and again, the staff here are incredibly helpful and service-oriented.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable.
They offer lots of in-room amenities such as an espresso machine and an iPad. They also have lots of wall adapters for all your devices.
The price is a bit steep for those using the hotel for personal travels, but it's well worth the price for luxury and service!
I will gladly tag along with my husband on future business trips if it means staying here again :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank MandyJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear MandyJennifer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-la hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide genuine service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are delighted to see that you were able to enjoy the facilities and services we had to offer! I will make sure to share your kind words to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-la hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable!! The staff, room and overall experience could not have been better!! The location is great, with everything you need very close by. I would highly recommend this hotel for pleasure or business!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank ElleB1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear ElleB1011,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall stay and that you enjoyed the location or our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-la hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A hotel is as good as its staff, The Shangri-La Toronto is no exception. Outstanding service from the moment you arrive at the hotel, and in all capacities, check -in, food & beverage service in the lobby lounge and Bosk, to banquet, and housekeeping. The rooms are magical, everything at your fingertips or a call away. A world class addition to the city of Toronto

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms I have had offer breathtaking views of this vibrant city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Mary,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. At the Shangri-La hotel, we value in providing every guest true genuine hospitality and excellent customer service. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Best service I have ever had from all the 5 star hotels I have stayed at. Gym has good amenities and I really enjoyed the lobby with daily entertainment. The location is good, even though we drove we never needed to use our car to get around downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Abbas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Abbas,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to know you had a great overall stay with us and that you enjoyed our health club and the live entertainment in Lobby Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We live in Asia, so we know The Shangri-la's Hotel well, my husband is from Toronto, so when we were back this time we thought to stay for a couple of nights to try it and compare.
The Hotel smells great..is their signature smell (same perfume they use in Shanghai) good speedy checking process, Big spacious room, complementary coffee and water.
Complementary use of an i pad, great connecting plugs for all European Asian American gadgets... so no need for adapters.
The mattress was very comfortable.
Bathroom, great! (big and spacious) overall a good experience... we were there for the coldest winter in Toronto...so can not comment on the gym or pool.
the location is great 10 min walk to Queen street, the Hotel is right on University street.
Concierge service was good, knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Nala1111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto and that you were pleased with our customer service, amenities and our signature scent "Essence of Shangri-La". Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon!


Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,676 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $348 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing