We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, great service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-La for a week in total and couldn't fault the place. Hotel is very stylish, we had a deluxe single suite- which was beautifully laid out and very roomy, fabulous bathroom with big picture windows and even Internet tv in the bathroom mirror! Best thing though was the service. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Very courteous, massively attentive and really responsive to requests. They organised cars for us, helped us buy Blue Jays tickets when the ticket master site crashed and were great with our young son. Would def recommend and go back. Keen to try other hotels in this chain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sara,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your room as well as the outstanding service we always try to deliver to each of our guest. We hope you had fun at the Blue Jays game and we hope to see you again in near future!

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    162
    51
    19
    14
See reviews for
199
401
41
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had our wedding night in the Toronto location and both the hotel and restaurant were flawless. The best service i have received anywhere in the world. They deserve every bit of praise. Thank you for making it such a special stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitlams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Whitlams,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay during your special day at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We always strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we are delighted to hear that our staff was able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's a high tech five star hotel in the middle of the city. Particular commendation to the concierge and the front desk team who made our short visit to Toronto full of value and efficiency. Our overall rating of the hotel is simply excellent. The suite can conveniently accommodate a family with 2 teens, an extra bed can easily added to complement the sofa bed should the kids refuse to sleep next to each other. The suite is spacious enough to provide family unity as well as parents and teens privacy.
It represents an excellent value for money for a five star stay in the center of downtown Toronto.

An area that can be improved is addition some variety to the food menu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jihan259424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jihan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had an overall great experience during your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. I will make sure to share your praises with the concierge and front desk team and your feedback for the food menu with our F&B team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My Fiance and I are both professionals 26 and 41. We like to treat ourselves to a night out from time to time. Usually our first pick is the Trump International Hotel. My fiance has stayed at the Shangri La, Beijing and Shangri La Kuala Lumpur. I haven't been to any, as this was my first Shangri la experience. We drove in and were kindly greeted by a eager bright eyed doormen. I handed over my keys standard Valet procedure. Walked in and in front of me was a lobby bar and stunning fire place with beautiful women wearing asian influence attire. My fiance checked in to the most non front desk like check in set up, it was off to the side with no indicator what type of desk it was. I was expected to be greeted in a grand way as reviews suggested....

Highlights

-Stunning Rooms
-Beautiful Decor Throughout.
-Asian Decor Stylish and Modern
-Drink Menu -Tasty While Unique
-Food Daytime/Nighttime menu-Excellent
-We had a Premier King Bed which was as shown on site.

Not So Goods

-I was expecting someone to assist us to our room without having to ask. I was expecting some unique quality that would separated them from The Trump or Four Seasons.

-No services introduced or information given and we stated that it was our first visit.

-Lobby Bar staff cold and inattentive. Long wait for someone to even take your drink request.

-Not enough staff floating around especially since it was long weekend.

- Food Menu was on Ipad in the room. My partner and I wished there was a written menu, the hotel uses the ipad cause the order can go straight to the kitchen but Not everyone understands a ipad.

-Breakfast Menu on Ipad was limited.

-Departure was cold like my arrival. after standing for 5 min I was offered a Bosk Brand water before my car came up. And I called 15 min before we left so there wasn't a Long wait.

Conclusion :If service isn't a issue then definitely choose to stay here, but if you expect 5 star service then they fall short. If you are wanted Service that is unparalleled to none then Trump is the place to visit. (Your greeting alone is 5 star with their cold spa towel to refresh your face or a hot one for your hands). Trump also assist you to your room unless specified not too. Trump also calls you 5-7 min after to make sure everything is to your liking. All in all we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with double vanity if you are a couple and don't wanna share one vanity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Dana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Miss Dana,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for staying at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto.

The details which you provided are helpful to us, as we always strive for service excellence.
I will share your comments with my team and we will take this as an opportunity to improve on the areas you highlighted.

I hope that you might give us a second try, as we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip for 4 nights and the service was phenomenal. The hotel staff always greeted you with a warm smile and made sure you had everything you needed. The room was spectacular and there was a plate of exotic fruits on the dresser waiting for me the first night. The room had floor to ceiling windows overlooking University Ave. The bathroom was bigger than any bathroom I have seen with a separate shower and separate tub. Dual vanity with a TV built into one of the mirrors. There was also an espresso machine in the room and it was a great start to the morning. Everything was over and beyond what I expected and I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aznsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Aznsd,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the four night stay during your business trip here at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We strive to create an environment where guests feel like they are home away from home and we are so happy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were greeted by smiling staff and sent on our way by smiling staff. In between was the greatest hotel experience we've had. The room was immaculate and felt like we were perched on top of University Ave to witness the energy of Toronto. The room was loaded with automation and beautiful decor. The bathroom was a highlight and became our lounge at one point. Fish in the lobby floor and a bird cage above the pond contributes to the most zen common area I've seen in a large hotel. When the valet brought our car he also sent us on our way with complimentary water for the road. Perfect atmosphere and a perfect hotel. Honest. Pay the extra few dollars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jc M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of University Ave and witness the energy of Toronto from your room! We try to make our guests feel like our hotel is their home away from home and we are delighted to see you enjoyed the little details our hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great value through loyalty program with upgraded room and food credit.
Everything is spotless.
Spa is beautiful, treatments in steam room (hammam) are wonderful as is the Moroccan themed relaxation room.
Staff are lovely.



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear C P,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded room and food credit through your loyalty program and we hope to give you more great value-added experiences in the future at any of our Shangri-La Hotels. We are also glad that you had the chance to experience the wonderful Miraj Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto very soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing