We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel exceeded all my expectations! I stay on some if the best luxury hotel round the world as an event manager and can be very critical however this hotel can not be faulted!!! The lobby has a fantastic atmosphere and is the real hub if the hotel with the bar and restaurant adjacent!! I was fortunate enough to be allocated a huge suite and this has All the amenities you can imagine and more!!! The spa is fantastic and the cabana beds are perfect for relaxing with a book pre or post spa treatment!!! My only slight criticism is breakfast, I'm a firm believer that fruit, pastries, yoghurt etc should be a buffet and not ordered individually. Even if these items came to the table on wheeled trolly to enable the guest to choose or serve themselves!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyt1985London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are so please to hear that you enjoyed your suite and you had the chance to relax in the cabanas! We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and are happy that you had everything you needed. Your idea for breakfast is quite appealing, we will review how we can enhance our breakfast service. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Came into the Lobby Lounge for drinks last week. The service was excellent and there was live music! It was a fun and relaxed atmosphere. We ordered the gin basil smash, pacito and a raspberry elderflower mocktail to drink, we then had the salmon sushi, tuna sashimi and calamari to snack on, everything was delicious!
My friends and I loved it and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the signature cocktails, food, and live music in our Lobby Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

they do everything right. rooms are beautiful with excellent attention to detail. staff is terrific and the service reflects that. it is definitely the best 5 star hotel in Toronto. They even have a top notch fitness center and an awesome restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zooche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Shangri-La,Toronto. We strive to have high quality standards in our hotel and are pleased to deliver personalised service to each of our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the restaurant and the health club.
We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

By far one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. The decor is smart, the service impeccable, and the ammenties plentiful and top notch. The fitness facilities are fantastic (reserve a cabana by the hot tub and relax with an inwall TV), the food at Bosk of the highest quality, and even the scented air has been planned out!

Rooms are spacious and bright (although there are a few per floor with smaller windows) and all rooms come with luxury toiletries, an iPad to interact with the hotel, fantastic linens, and lots of amazing little features (can you say motorized drapes and sheers?).

Room Tip: Each floor has a suite of three rooms that have a shared entrance (for larger groups - but each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at the Shangri-La Toronto. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, especially at our signature restaurant bosk and our health club facilities. We strive to deliver the highest quality and are pleased that you were impressed. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently stayed at the Shangri-La in Toronto and found the experience to be worthy of sharing with others. Studious travelers should know that this is a new establishment and remarkable in style and décor. The rooms are extraordinarily well appointed and will meet or exceed the expectation of the most discriminate traveler.

The lobby did attract much attention and kept the staff busy attempting to accommodate the desires of all visitors. The restaurant meals and staff were nothing short of excellent and are deserving of recognition. Prices are competitive with the finest restaurants.

Finally and most importantly the staff provided service is beyond compare. You will not find this level of service elsewhere and I urge anyone considering a vacation stay in the Toronto area to spend a night or so at the Shagri-la.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We always strive to provide excellent and personalised service to our guests and it makes me happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in prime central location. Very much enjoyed our suite overlooking University Avenue. Had a relaxing massage and hammam experience at the enchanting Miraj spa. The Noodle Bar at Momofuku was fun and delicious. Everyone was courteous and gracious without pretention. A lovely hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Pierre,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular view overlooking the University Avenue from your suite and had an overall lovely experience at the Miraj Spa and Momofuku. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Recently spent two nights and enjoyed our stay
The lobby is a bit quirky but the rooms spacious,bright,and wonderfully furnished.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Great location close to the COC,shopping,restaurants and funky Queen st west.
Only 20 mins or so to the waterfront and Dome.
10 mins to theatres.
Had dinner at Momofuku Daisho and enjoyed our tasting experience.Our bill for dinner was over $500 for two.Food was good but not nec phenomenal for that price.Great ambience though at the bar.
Also tried Momofuku Noodles for lunch and that was fabulous.
Shanti la a good choice when in Toronto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,958 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $346 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing