We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Good Points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #11 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Shangri-La Toronto in April. Having stayed previously at the Shangri-La in Kuala Lumpur, Hong Kong and Kowloon, where the experience was simply exhilarating, we were anxious to see if the Toronto property was equally so.

A couple of days prior to our arrival, I had received a e-mail from the hotel to ask for our approximate time of arrival indicating that it was to ensure we would be accorded a "bespoke check-in experience." So, I responded with an ETA, expecting something out of the ordinary ... you know ... "bespoke."

Our check in was neither bespoke nor particularly memorable. We went up to the two desks that rogether make up the "counter." Both of the representatives were very polite and pleasant if not visibly sure who should attend to us. Finally, after a few moments of unease, I made their jobs easier by picking one over the other.

The representative who checked us in then walked us to our room, presumably leaving her desk unattended. Good thing the hotel is not busy. If this was the bespoke check in, then OK, I acknowledge. However, better hotels in Japan routinely do that. Nothing spectacular.

Our room was nice with all the little touches that one would expect from a 5-star hotel. We were on a relatively low floor since the higher floors are condos. Our room faced University Avenue and we could hear the traffic noise almost througout the night. Not good for light sleepers.

The pool and fitness centre were clearly showpieces of the hotel. Very opulant and the service from the attendant was very attentive.

The lobby bar - it being a Saturday night - was very busy and loud. Apparently, it is the "in place" for the young, trendy and rich in Toronto. Unfortunately, I'm not young, trendy and rich.

The hotel location is reasonably good. Facing Simcoe Street, it is not on a busy street. but the downside to that is there isn't a whole lot really close to the hotel. Across from it is a small 24-hr. grocery store and a coffee shop. Not much else. Around the corner, on King Street West, is where the action is. That's a 10-minute stroll away.

All in all, a good experience, but certainly not on par with our previous experiences at other Shangri-Las.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank udomeidouwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the new Shangri-La In Toronto. The lobby is a little underwhelming with an odd area for checking in. You then have to walk through the bar service area to get to the elevators. The lobby is also a bit too highly scented. The rooms are nice. Unfortunately the hotel rooms are on lower floors and the condo are on the higher floors with the better views. I am not a fan of hotels which have residences. You are either a hotel which caters to the guest or a condo whose priority is the condo owner. The general impression of the staff is that they are not quite sure where they stand. By comparison, at the Ritz Carlton, a few blocks away, from the moment you get out of the car they make you feel like your part of their family. Overall, this is a solid choice. May return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recently attended a conference at the Shangri-La Hotel. I loved all the small details in the room. From labelled (in english) buttons for lights, sheers and currents, to extra blackberry chargers in room (I forgot mine). Great views from my corner suite and smart layout in the bathroom that allows you to watch TV news while in the tub or water closet.

Beds are very comfortable and curtains block out the sun and most of the traffic noise

Check-in right in main lobby, hard to hear what they wanted, as it's right off the open concept piano bar.

Overall, wonderful service to guests and while at the conference meeting rooms are bright and airy. The third floor conference area has a wonderful exterior patio facing University Avenue, fantastic cocktails outside, with views up University Avenue, can see their Capital building from the patio.

Cannot comment on price, as I was a hosted conference attendee, but does have a boutique feel, even though it is a large hotel.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor or on the west side, University Avenue is a main road in town and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Gregory,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so delighted to hear that you had great stay with us during your conference and that you enjoyed all the small details our hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, the weekend of May 4th. We live in Toronto and decided to stay at the hotel for our wedding weekend and use it as our "getting ready suite".
Every details is thought of at this hotel. From the greetings at the front door, The check-in process which is seamless and personal, down the the amenities in the bathroom! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite located on the 12th floor, overlooking University Ave facing north. Beautiful views, especially at night.
The concierge is exactly what you would expect. I requested a few more chairs in the room as we were getting ready the day of the wedding and they were delivered minutes after I hung up the phone.
Every part of the room is beautifully appointed, however the highlight was the bathroom. White marble vanity, deep soaker tub, rain shower head shower... just beautiful. The L'Occitane were a lovely added touch.
Something that I've never experienced before at any hotel, is the in room iPad, where you can surf the web, order room service, book your spa appointments and even book transportation with their white Mercedes, which we used to drive us to our ceremony!
Absolutely wonderful stay! Would recommend this place to anyone. Without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Vanessa,
Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel for your wedding weekend stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and enjoyed excellent service provided by our staff. This is the best compliment for us to hear that you would recommend us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed for one evening. The room is a nice city size, very comfortable & modern. It's the attention to luxury details that put this hotel over the top. Thick towels, leather and suiede remote control box, ipad in leather case, fantasticcoffee and tea machines, wonderful glasses (water, high ball, wine etc), leather case for bottled water and glass, tv in the WC mirror. The WC is marble, large and has various lighting settings. The enitre room is touch swtiches from the lighting to the drapes.
There are two restaurants on sight as well as a great lobby lounge, which also sell small food items. Service all around is an A+
The lobby lounge can get very busy, so make a reservation.
Location: Fantastic ifyour coming for buisness on Bay St. & central location for tourists.
Negative: Parking at the hotel is $48 per night.
If your not a "city person" you may find the traffic loud.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckworths5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at Shangri-La Hotel. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide high standards and personalized service to everyone and it makes me happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

wow.. they have an ipad for you to use and the best feature was all the charging cords for various devices which we often forget. the beauty aids soap, shampoo are totally wonderful and big. the room was spectacular and there is a tv in the bathroom mirror. The bar downstairs is very nice with good live music. highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkuteshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with Shangri-La Hotel. The fact that we made that ‘wow’ effect means a lot to us. Thank you very much for paying attention to every detail in the room as it was created to provide a truly exceptional experience to each guest. We hope to have you back in near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Hotel Lobby offers Music / Entertainment 6 nights a week, they have a piano player from 5-8pm and from 8-12am a Band every night except Sunday night, the Deserts and the drinks are worth especially in the Winter near their Contemporary fire place.
Tho hotel has a great array of Restaurants and Sushi Bar. just have a great evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,552 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $376 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing