We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was by far one of the most amazing stays we have ever had at any hotel! We travel very often and have stayed at many 5* Hotels, including Four Seasons, Mandarin, Ritz and Trump. This is the first time staying in Toronto and at any Shangri-La Property. The service was impeccable from start to finish. Every single person working there made it an awesome experience. From the concierge Andrew to the waiter Jon-Michel. They personalized the trip for us in minute details that were never done for us before at any hotel. I never take the time to do these reviews but I always read them when we are going to travel and stay at any new hotel. This review I just had to write as a little thank you from me for making it such a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite is where we stayed and it was fantastic! From the view, to the size, to the heated...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1l0vet0travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello,

On behalf of the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that your expectations were exceeded upon your first stay with our hotel. I will be sure to share your kind words with both Andrew from concierge and your waiter Jan-Michael from Bosk restaurant. We look forward to hosting your next stay when you return to Toronto.  

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend and I spent a great early evening in the lobby bar and can't say enough good things. The atmosphere, although busy, was relaxing and intimate (we sat by the beautiful fireplace). The food was incredible; we shared a charcuterie platter and cheese platter. When I asked for a gluten-free alternative to the crispy baguettes usually provided, there was no hesitate and they graciously obliged. The wine list is very good, the service was excellent and the ambiance was exactly what we had hoped for. Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueNorth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Can't ask for anything better than Shangri-La Toronto... our stay was perfect - will definitely stay here every trip to Toronto. Sleeping is an ease with the amazing bedding/pillows and quiet floors. The service is spectacular - everywhere in the hotel from room service, gym/pool to lobby bar. Amenities are to die for... everything you need is offered. Also, a great combination of hotel and resident restaurants. Superb selection of cuisines - hard to find in hotels sometimes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC6983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The lobby bar is a lovely place for a light meal, we ate there before the ballet on Friday. Service was excellent, between two of us we had the beef sliders, a Caesar salad and manchego topped fries - all really good and not expensive for the location and ambiance We'll certainly go back again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joe1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and stands up to their international reputation.
Lots of restaurants and bars in the hotel and even more at close proximity to the hotel. Four Seasons Centre literally across the street.
Lobby bar has live music in the evenings.
Perfect

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I echo many of the comments here about the hotel's wonderful service, quality, cleanliness, and luxurious rooms but wanted to add a comment about the hotel's excellent response to an emergency. After I made coffee in the morning, my coffee maker started to smoke and it smelled like an electrical fire. I called the front desk. An engineer was at my door in just a few minutes (although I was on an upper floor), He quickly covered the machine, removed it from the room and set me up with a new one. It was all over in a few minutes. I was having another cup of coffee a short time later. Catastrophe averted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed a night at the Shangri-La in Toronto on March 3. Although pricey, it was worth every penny of my employer's money. Located downtown on the edge of the financial district, across from the Hilton and about a ten minute walk from the civic center, convenience was not an issue. If you like elegance with a modern, Japanese flair, you'll feel right at home. Receptionists will normally accompany you to your room, which you will find is reasonably spacious, simply but elegantly decorated, fresh-smelling, and equipped with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Mimibar is well-stocked with top shelf everything. Bathroom is remarkable, with top-flight amenities, marble floors and marbled walls. A TV remote converts a section of the large mirror into a TV screen, although watching TV is about the last activity I go to a bathroom to enjoy. Still, the technology on display was ku-el. All the light switches are well-labelled, and you have more than the normal set of options. You can control all the lights from your bedside, so you don't have to get up to turn off the hallway light you forgot. The only thing that wasn't well-labelled (or indeed labelled at all) was the shower controls. (Top lever rotates to select overhead or side shower nozzles. Bottom lever controls temperature, and rotates from 6 o'clock to 12'o'clock for cool to hot (clockwise).) Hotel lobby is comfortable and attractive, with a large gas fire. If you sit for more than two minutes, someone will come by and offer food or drink. If you're on an expense account, take it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertNorwalk_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,442 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $384 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing