We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, attractive YUMMY all day breakies.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Free Times Cafe

Free Times Cafe
Ranked #755 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing, attractive YUMMY all day breakies.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I think the bill was nine dollars incl tax -
two eggs, whole grain toast, watermelon, kiwi, grapefruit, bacon and two latkes.
Oh - and a salad lightly dressed - and homemade jam - I think.
And a beautiful sunny day to sit on the patio.
Enjoy!

The music was a lottle loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricklion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Went for the music, stayed for the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I found the place because I was looking for live acoustic music, as it happened I turned up too early for the show, but the food and atmosphere were very enjoyable. I had the beef brisket with latkes which came with loads of pickles and dishes of apple sauce, gravy and sour cream - I'm not usually a fan of pickled cucumber and beetroot but these were very tasty and worked really well with the main dish. Brisket was lean and very tasty, latkes substantial and suitably crisp at the edges. I'm not that familiar with Jewish cuisine but to me this seemed very good. I'll certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We found the Free Times Cafe on a stroll around the Kensington Market area of Toronto and stopped for lunch. The Cafe is a great little place to refuel. The staff are pleasant and friendly, and we felt welcome. This place offers an excellent menu, with reasonable prices. The food is good and the portions are huge. A very comfortable place to get a meal and sit down for a while. Would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelJFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Klezmer Music and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ideal place for lovers of jewish cuisine. Very home-like atmosphere. Buffet or table service. Excellent food. Bagels, cream cheese, salmon(lox), white fish, scramble eggs, blintzes, potato latkes, lots of sweets:halva, apple strudles and more. You can eat and listen to live Klezmer music. Reservation required.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soccerfan184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pretty good smoked meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I’ve been to Free Times a number of times and while down-the-street competitor Caplansky’s can on the odd occasion serve a better smoked meat sandwich, Free Times is always consistently good, whereas the Caplansky’s experience is variable.

The Free Times version comes on caraway rye (Silverstein’s, I believe). Like Caplansky’s - and Schwartz’s for that matter - the sandwich is not properly piled high with meat as you would expect from a top-notch deli. It’s supposed to be piled high Bubbie-style, because Bubbie’s afraid you might keel over from malnutrition when in fact the only thing likely to kill you is your obesity. So the sandwich contains a pretty modest amount of meat. Maybe it’s a Canadian thing – I’m looking for an American-sized serving.

But what’s there is very good. Supplied by Goldins, it is properly made and hand-carved; quite a difference between it and some of the injected, machine-sliced rubbery stuff that’s trucked in from Montreal. It’s tender, nicely spiced, properly fatted, and has the slightest hint of smoke

I’ve only been to Schwartz’s and The Main twice; I may be wrong but I don’t recall any smokiness to their sandwiches. But if this is a new sub-style – Toronto smoked meat? – I’m all for it.

The caraway in the bread arguably overshadows the spicing in the meat, but I’m fine with that, having come from a long line of peasants who like their caraway.

The bottom slices of bread on both halves of my sandwich were a soggy wet mess. Not sure if that’s the kitchens fault or that of the hipster waiter. No matter – I’ve experienced that before at Peter’s On Eglinton too and I always manage to soldier on through.

Free Times is a small, funky place that’s not for everyone, but if you’re looking for a smoked meat sandwich in Toronto, I’d recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank MattToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Times Cafe also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Free Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing