We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“patio is great”

Gabby's Bar And Grill
Ranked #1,211 of 8,643 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: Welcome to Gabby's, a Canadian restaurant/bar chain with a strong focus on great quality, mainstream casual food at affordable prices. Proudly Serving Neighbourhoods for 22 years! Gabby's was founded in 1989 by a local Toronto based family. Situated on Yonge Street, north of Lawrence Avenue in the heart of a populated upper-middle-class neighbourhood, the concept was simply to create a cozy environment that was well suited to have great conversations, served quality freshly cooked meals and offered great draft beer and spirit selections. After more then two decades of fine-tuning, product development, and loads of hard work, we have what you see today. As of 2012, we have eighteen locations (15 under the banner name Gabby's) We currently serve over 35,000 customers a week. Today, we still offer a stimulating atmosphere with lots of conversation pieces on the walls and serve excellent quality, fresh cooked meals. We are defined as a main stream casual dining restaurant with an integrated sports bar area that caters to the community and local businesses. We provide friendly, attentive service in a relaxed environment by staff and owners that truly enjoy their job.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“patio is great”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

more than the food, the patio is great. If the weather permits, its really lively to sit outside. I especially like to sit on the seats adjacent to pedestrian walkway. Its right opposite the TIFF Bell Lightbox, so there's always something happening
The flip side is - the servers take a l-o-n-g time to come to your table

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    31
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
763 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,417 helpful votes
“Mediocre Average 3 star type place......”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I totally agree with the other reviewers. This is a totally 3 star across the board "average" type place. I was at a business conference in the area and it was raining. I was with a work colleague and we didn't have time to review places ahead of time.

We were at an all weekend type event and we already went to a few other places in the area. It was ok and the menu was quite extensive but the food was just ok. Nothing too memorable. I got the daily special which was an open faced turkey sandwich with gravy and mashed potatoes.

It was ok. My work colleague got a sandwich and he only ate half of it so I assume it wasn't anything too special either. The service was quite good and the waitress was very friendly and even checked on us several times.

I guess if you're in the area it's ok but I wouldn't go out of the way if you're not close. There are several hotels in the area so I'd have to believe they get that crowd.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

the food is classic, good rack. Service slow even without a lot of people inside the restaurant. I ordered a full rack and it was ok. nice terrasse outside

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sebounet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some good some bad”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am giving Gabby’s 3 stars … but just barely.

The location, across from the TIFF Lightbox is great and they have a large secluded patio … but unfortunately loud musing was blaring (to the point that the waitress could barely take our order) and it was quite smoky.

I had the steak with sweet potatoes fries ($18). It was excellent - tender and not overdone (as often in North America). Portions were generous. Sweet potatoes fries were nice and crispy.

Our son also had the steak, but with rice. He commented: "the rice has no taste!"

My wife had the Chicken Monsoon salad ($13). It was terrible. The salad was not fresh and very soggy – drenched in a "monsoon" of high-sugar sweet and sour vinaigrette. She was hoping for something light and healthy and was totally disappointed. There were just a few small pieces of chicken floating in the salad.

Overall a more sour than sweet experience. Stay away from the salad … or ask for the vinaigrette on the side.

Service was pretty good and fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Late Drinks”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

nice bar with polite service, went here for drinks solo while walking on king street. they have a nice big patio on the side. cant comment on food but it looked good from the other people around.very nice atmoshephre to grab a few drinks. next time ill try something for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerochka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabby's Bar And Grill also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Gabby's Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing