We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Expected!!!”
Review of PF Chang's - CLOSED

PF Chang's
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North York
Description: Our menu offers culinary creations by our Co-Founder, Philip Chiang, that are inspired by the major regions of China and its neighbouring countries. Most of our dishes are cooked in a Northern-style Chinese wok fired by a 900 degree flame which creates "wok hay" or "breath of wok." Our unique smoky, caramelized flavours and crispy textures can only be achieved using this age-old traditional technique. Each dish is prepared to order using only the freshest, high-quality ingredients. We use fresh chicken breast and flank steak that are hand-trimmed each day in our kitchens. All our dishes are MSG-free. Our vast selection means everyone will find something to love. We can accommodate a variety of allergies and tastes. A Gluten-Free menu is also available. Attaining harmony of taste, texture, colour and aroma by balancing the Chinese principles of FAN and T'SAI.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not as Expected!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I went to try the Summerlicious 3-course Lunch menu, It wasn't a good experience as the food taste is completely different from what I used to get in L.A.
Their appetizer didn't seem to be fresh, I ordered Steams Pork WONTONS and it came cold with hard texture. I don't know if the food was like this because of the Summerlicious or its always been like this. Moreoever, their prices were not cheap compared to the quality and portion they provided. I would pay little more and go to all you can eat restaurant in the GTA with better quality.
It was my 1st try for the Toronto location and definitely the last.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly M, Guest Relations Manager at PF Chang's, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for joining us for Summerlicious.
We had a lot of guests come during the period and lunch was definitely popular at only $15 for 3 courses. Looking at the menu, it seems you had our Wonton Soup as your first course. We hand-fold them daily in our restaurant and are sorry that you did not enjoy them during your visit. In the future our waiters will replace anything that is not to your liking. As for our US counterparts, we do share the same recipes, standards and training programs as them. Would you consider giving us another chance? We would send you a Be Our Guest card for your next meal.
Please reach out at customerexpereince@pfchangs.ca.
Thanks again for joining us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great food, not your ordinary fare. Went in to try new types of food and was pleasantly surprised with the choices. Wait staff was pleasant and informative.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am a long time frequenter of PF Changs in several locations in southern California. Great food, great wine flights and comfortable atmosphere.

I highly recommend them to anyone and the Toronto location did not disappoint.

May I suggest the Chicken Lettuce Wraps. They are a favourite amongst many.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SquireJones155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Management is on a high horse re:Prices, Quality and Value”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Marketing 101. Import a restaurant from the US. Charge more than average for less than average food.......and count your money.

This place is to Chinese food what the Old Spaghetti Factory is to Italian food.But that would be unfairly knocking the OSF, which is a very neat place. The food is not really that bad, and the prices are semi reasonable for what you get. PF's gives you food that has nice names, looks pretty on the plate, but tastes bland, has small portions, and is quite expensive for what you get.

You can get much better tasting food in hundreds, yes, hundreds of Chinese restaurants in the GTA. Many times food writers in the USA have said that you get better Chinese food in San Francisco than in NYC, but you get the best Chinese food in North America, in Toronto. So why in the world would you go to a factory made restaurant with factory looking and tasting food? That's PF Chang's. Small portions. Too Salty. Too Sweet. Too Expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hazelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly M, Manager at PF Chang's, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello,
We are sorry your experience did not live up to your expectations. A customer service rep, would be happy to help you by inviting you back. We have many happy guests and we use premium ingredients for our sharing-sided portions. We deliver upscale-casual dining of Asian-inspired dishes - notably Chinese cuisine. We are proud to be part of the rich selection of Chinese and Asian restaurants in Toronto.
We can be reached at customerexperience@pfchangs.ca.
Looking forward to serving you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Met friends for dinner last Saturday & had a wonderful time. Our waitress contributed with great banter & excellent service. We all had different dishes which were all delicious. My shrimp & noodles was nice & spicy, just the way I like it! We plan to visit again as there were many dishes on the menu that we HAVE to try. Quite a nice change to the regular Chinese restaurants' fare.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CollFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing