We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirmation Dinner”

Golden Lion Restaurant, Bar
Ranked #2,097 of 10,303 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Queensway
Description: Tel: 416-252-3456
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

The Golden Lion is one of the most professional banquet halls I have had the pleasure of working with. Andrew the banquet manager made sure from the beginning that our needs were met. He even called in the middle of the week prior to our event to check if there was anything else he could assist us with. Our waiter was courteous, friendly and was always at our service. This establishment receives a five plus stars! Will always pick the Golden Lion for future events. Thank you to all the staff.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Frugallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

Chose Golden Lion for my husband’s birthday party few years ago and came back for my own birthday party. Great food, staff, and overall an amazing experience. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Relax487220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Last Saturday we attended friends birthday party. We were a party of about 55 people. Going to this place we weren't sure what to expect but we ended up having a blast!
From the outside the place doesn't look very appealing but as soon as you enter the restaurant it looks amazing. Very spacious and clean.
The food:
Everything was delicious. Smoked salmon and herrings were very fresh! Olivie was very nice, borsch was very tasty as well. Shashlyky were great but the duck was the best and of course potatoes with garlic did the trick!!!
Service:
Very friendly and responsive staff, polite and attentive, could not ask for a better servers, so THANK YOU!
Music:
It was nice to listen to Ukrainian music and even better to dance to it. The band was amazing.
Thank you for not playing Russian music in Ukrainian restaurant, this was very important to us.
Plan your next get together at this place, you won't regret it!
Smachnoho!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Uli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2018

I have visited Golden Lion many times. Service, food, decor, music, quality of food and atmosphere – everything is very good! Always!!! It is a beautiful restaurant whith Eastern European cuisine. Cabbage rolls are cooked to perfection, perogies and Kiev kotlet are very good, the borscht just like Baba would make, steak and fish – fantastic! You’ll never be hungry here like at home! The staff just exceptional. Saturday evenings – live music! You want to get up and dance like you are at a Ukrainian wedding. The atmosphere unites all whether European or not and all have fun. Will definitely be back again & again! Thanks Golden Lion!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank kosyachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Daniel and I cannot thank you enough for all of your hard work on July,29 2017 which made our Wedding Day absolutely perfect in every way. We had looked at a number of venues but there was just something unique about Golden Lion we knew this would be our perfect venue and we were so right.
From our first visit to Golden Lion we have only great things to say about this fabulous place: from the meal tasting, room planning, decorations, reception and many other finer details up to the Wedding day.
The attention to details before and on our Wedding day was outstanding. Special thanks to Andrii!!! You are the best!!!! Thank you for all your advice and support. I could only imagine how busy you were that day (there were 5 parties that day in the restaurant, around 600 people). We never felt left behind, Andrii and the staff were always there for us and made us feel like we were the only party there. Nothing was a problem and I had many little extra requests. Whatever we asked for we got and loads more!
Few words about our AMAZING waitress Inna!!!! For that day she became part of our family. She took such a great care of us and our guests that only a closest family can do. There was no need to tell her what to do and how to do it, she is such a professional!!!! I think it is very important to know that everything will be done the way you want it without reminding or asking. Her warm smile, the spark in her eyes, willingness to help, knowledge of the business and dedication is just unreal!!!! In one of the reviews Inna was called an ANGEL and she truly is!!!! I cannot even find words to express my thanks to Inna. We were very lucky to have such an “angel” to take care of our special day.

And few words about the venue itself: that day there were around 600 people or so in there, the most surprising part was that we didn’t feel it. Place wasn’t overcrowded, there was enough room for everyone, restaurant staff was always there: polite, with the smile and not stressed out and nervous!!! Have no idea how they do it but it works and its fantastic!!!!

Food was simply AMAZING!!!!! My Canadian guests who have never been to a restaurant (maybe even never tried Ukrainian food) before still talking about it. They loved everything: the food, the setup, the band and the music. All our guests still calling me and telling how exquisite the wedding was!

To each and every one of the team, but especially ANDRII and INNA, we cannot thank you enough for making our wedding day so memorable and special. Our Wedding Day was just simply perfect and mostly it is because of you - Golden Lion!!!!

Daniel and Lesya

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank lesyab713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Lion Restaurant, Bar also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Golden Lion Restaurant, Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing