We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Resolution Screens-Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TIFF Bell Lightbox

TIFF Bell Lightbox
Ranked #60 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“High Resolution Screens-Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Love the HD screens at the TIFF and the comfy seating to with them. Truly a great movie experience. Only problem is when they have overflow and use the top floor auditorium with the movable seats--not so comfy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank torontogal-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    49
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding space for outstanding films”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of my happiest memories from my solo trip to Toronto was seeing two matinees back-to-back. This space is a haven on King Street where you can get a break from the daily grind to interact with inspiring films. You should go here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“TIFF A Reliable Barometer of Outstanding Film From Around The Globe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

TIFF is recognized as the largest and most respected film festival in North America.
Films that have gone on to win prestigious cinematic awards got their humble beginnings and often thunderous accolades right here in Toronto. There is something for every taste including noteworthy films from the archives. The line ups may be long, but it is a small price to pay to meet respected producers and their entourage of actors, directors etc., not to mention bragging rights when the films snag the big awards. Plan ahead, wear comfortable shoes and head out before so many of these world class films are out of reach. The added bonus; being in a world class city, with world class restaurants hobnobbing with some of the nicest people on the planet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarmelpHappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A surprise! A fantastic theatrical experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I had a few hours to kill downtown Toronto and was walking by Tiff Lightbox. I thought if see a movie since they were playing at convenient times for my schedule. What a great surprise!! The theatre sound was the best I had ever experienced. The popcorn was even the best I had ever tasted! It was a truly wonderful place to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipigon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Film Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

THE BELL LIGHTBOX THEATER was filled with volunteers, who were generally helpful. Waiting outside was difficult, for my friend who was handicapped, but she was finally noticed, and moved to the front of the line.
Inside the theatre, there was some confusion about which floor the films were on and how to get there. Washrooms were not easily accessible, because of the crowding. Stairways were crowded.
The most difficult part of the festival was waiting in very long lines outside in the blazing hot sun.
The films were great; we had ordered tickets and were able to pick up others as time permitted. Office staff were friendly and efficient.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TIFF Bell Lightbox also viewed

 

Been to TIFF Bell Lightbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing