We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food- but a little too trendy!”
Review of Grand Electric

Grand Electric
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Electric is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food- but a little too trendy!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food is extremely tasty- I'd recommend the scrapple (pork scarps), def. my favourite, the sauces were great. We also had the baja fish, chicken and cauliflower and loved them all.

The guac was good too- not enough garlic for me though!

My only complaint is that it was so dark and the music was so loud that it was difficult to have a conversation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    76
    17
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hip little taco joint, but the food lacks oomph”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Sunday night. Got there 5 minutes before opening and there were 8 people already waiting, so I was excited!

Amongst 3 of us, we ate the entire menu (which is small). The fish taco is short on flavour. Beef cheek was nice but not OMG good, chicken not spicy enough but there's a nice red sauce in the table.

The only standout was the Tuna Chevice which is a generous portion of large Tuna cubes on a crispy deep-fried taco.

Everything is fresh and well prepared, just doesn't seem to warrant the reputation.

Go for the cool vibe , sweet soundtrack and huge Rye and Bourbon selection!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 886MichaelS886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, mexican, amazing :D”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Toronto is definitely lacking Mexican culture via restaurants. This place makes up for that. I would definitely recommend the beef cheek and crispy cauliflower tacos. Chris and Ian (owner and manager) are always entertaining and welcoming to all guests. Definitely advise this place. Bear in mind it is very loud and the wait is upwards of an hour on most nights!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DS2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A great Mexican place if you love tacos”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Both locations of Playa Cabana were booked, and I needed mexican desperately. Grand Electric hit the spot, but I would have liked more vegetarian options, and more non-taco options. However, I realize that is their specialty. Their specialty drink, a version of a whisky sour, does not disappoint.

I was there ten minutes before opening and still only got a seat at the bar. Wow!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sherbear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Two words. Spicy squid. Get there early, and gorge on tacos, excellent mixed drinks, and an electric atmosphere. This place rocks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Electric also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Grand Electric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing