We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO COLD WATER?!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn City Centre
Ranked #79 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Terrebonne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NO COLD WATER?!?”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am writing this review from my room, i am in there right now. Don't come to this place. It is pathetic. everything is new here, but its just apearance. the floor cracks and is not even, there are bumps here and there, shower tubs were not renovated; mine is completely stained, its turned brown, would need a very thorough scrub.

Room key demagnetized the morning after arrival. barely 12 hours in working condition.

Their staff's english is horrible. And I'm french.

The elevator is buggy, it keeps detecting something in the doorway. i had to slap the doors strongly back into open state before it finally closed them completely. Operation is ridiculously slow, there are cracking noises

Wwhat makes the less sense it that in the washroom there is no cold water. JUST HOT WATER. On both sides of the tap. Even the toilet bowl is fed with hot water!! I was on 3rd floor,

SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THIS PLACE. it just feels like a cheaply made hotel facade on a random shabby old structure.

At least, service is good.

There are better options, seriously.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinS200380051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    104
    80
    28
    17
See reviews for
55
90
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here in early September as we passed through Toronto. The staff were friendly and helpful. The size of the room was small but it was clean. They provide a microwave but no other utensils etc other than paper cups. If you're dining out and don't have kids, you may not mind. The hotel is not situated in a great part of Toronto but seemed safe enough with a few interesting characters here and there. Having said that, my wife does say that she wouldn't have stayed in the area on her own. Don't use the lift if you are any bit claustraphobic. The breakfast is very basic. Again, probably fine for a stop over but I'm sure there are plenty of other places that would make you feel safer and more relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm glad I chose this hotel. I would say the price was about right for the location and accommodation. The beds are very comfortable and the room a very good size with a large tv and fridge. People have commented that it's a sketchy neighbourhood but it really is fine. There's lots of traffic around and I felt safe walking alone.
The breakfast is pretty decent but the breakfast room tiny so be prepared to take breakfast back to your room.
My only annoyance was that when we reported our heating was broken (we couldn't switch it off) we were told someone would be up to fix it. It never got fixed! We had to have the ac on all day and night to counteract the unbearable heat.
But I did like everything else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thank you to all staff at the comfort inn on Jarvis who were excellent .The room I had was a good size and very comfortable with all you require ,tea and coffee making facilities , Ironing board and iron. The breakfast room is small but the selection is good , at least it offers a breakfast at no extra cost unlike many others. the lift is problematic at times but I think that may be down to the technician who repairs it. The location is close to College subway and Dundas for shopping at Eaton centre . Once again thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: I had 409 well away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry1galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I "won" this hotel from a certain website that doesn't let you see which hotel you got until after you pay. Is that a big enough hint without actually saying the same of said website?

It's a small place, and this hotel has very obviously just gone through a major reno, so everything is really new and spiffy. Checkin went a little slower than usual, but was pleasant enough. My room was located on the first floor, which is down a flight of stairs into the basement. I didn't have any problem with being in the basement, but that's something I know would bug some people.

The room itself was nice, albeit a little small. The king sized bed had about a billion pillows, the TV was big and had a decent channel selection, and everything was new and clean. The bathroom was nice too, except the shower didn't have a door so water always ended up on the floor. That got annoying after the first shower, especially if you were the sucker who showered second.

The free breakfast was good. They had eggs, bacon, waffles, toast, cereal, etc. It was all the usual stuff and it was all fine. The eggs were pretty clearly microwaved, but still edible.

The biggest downfall of the hotel is the location, which is in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood. While you can easily walk to a more desirable location downtown, it's still a bit of a hike to the subway.

Overall the place is cheaper than comparable places downtown, and the neighborhood isn't so bad. I'd recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sure, the room was smallish but it had two queen beds, a rarity in Toronto, and WELL under $200 p/night. Good linens, comfortable beds. Breakfast room was small but the food was plentiful and the staff hardworking. Get there by 7:30AM and you will be fine. Loved the walk-in shower instead of the usual useless tub. This place even has a little area on the sidewalk for cars to pull up so your cabdriver doesn't hate you. Very convenient location and great value for money. Sure, we could have stayed a few blocks away in a bigger room in a nicer neighbourhood - for another $300 bucks a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnneCreamcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#63 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn City Centre

Property: Comfort Inn City Centre
Address: 321 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C2, Canada (Formerly Ambassador Hotel Toronto)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in the heart of downtown Toronto. Short walk to the Eaton Centre and minutes from most downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing