We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn City Centre
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thank you to all staff at the comfort inn on Jarvis who were excellent .The room I had was a good size and very comfortable with all you require ,tea and coffee making facilities , Ironing board and iron. The breakfast room is small but the selection is good , at least it offers a breakfast at no extra cost unlike many others. the lift is problematic at times but I think that may be down to the technician who repairs it. The location is close to College subway and Dundas for shopping at Eaton centre . Once again thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: I had 409 well away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry1galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    103
    79
    27
    17
See reviews for
55
87
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I "won" this hotel from a certain website that doesn't let you see which hotel you got until after you pay. Is that a big enough hint without actually saying the same of said website?

It's a small place, and this hotel has very obviously just gone through a major reno, so everything is really new and spiffy. Checkin went a little slower than usual, but was pleasant enough. My room was located on the first floor, which is down a flight of stairs into the basement. I didn't have any problem with being in the basement, but that's something I know would bug some people.

The room itself was nice, albeit a little small. The king sized bed had about a billion pillows, the TV was big and had a decent channel selection, and everything was new and clean. The bathroom was nice too, except the shower didn't have a door so water always ended up on the floor. That got annoying after the first shower, especially if you were the sucker who showered second.

The free breakfast was good. They had eggs, bacon, waffles, toast, cereal, etc. It was all the usual stuff and it was all fine. The eggs were pretty clearly microwaved, but still edible.

The biggest downfall of the hotel is the location, which is in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood. While you can easily walk to a more desirable location downtown, it's still a bit of a hike to the subway.

Overall the place is cheaper than comparable places downtown, and the neighborhood isn't so bad. I'd recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sure, the room was smallish but it had two queen beds, a rarity in Toronto, and WELL under $200 p/night. Good linens, comfortable beds. Breakfast room was small but the food was plentiful and the staff hardworking. Get there by 7:30AM and you will be fine. Loved the walk-in shower instead of the usual useless tub. This place even has a little area on the sidewalk for cars to pull up so your cabdriver doesn't hate you. Very convenient location and great value for money. Sure, we could have stayed a few blocks away in a bigger room in a nicer neighbourhood - for another $300 bucks a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnneCreamcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls,
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for my family of 4. When we checked in we were given a room on the 4th floor, and then we were advised that the elevator was broken. If we wanted a room on another floor we would have had to wait another 2 hours as housekeeping was running behind. This was at 3:00pm. When we got to our 4th floor room I was surprised that they could fit 2 double beds into the small space. The Health Club consisted of 1 treadmill (didn't work) and 1 exercise bike. When we checked out, my wife used the washroom in the front lobby and when she opened the door the shelf on the wall on the bathroom wall fell and almost hit her. She told the front desk and the agent at the front desk replied with "Ok" then turned to do something else. We paid $150 to stay in this hotel and feel like we really over paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dilion74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked this through Hot Wire and was happy with the price and the check in. The hotel is centrally located and walking to the downtown core is easy. However, with no parking, it made it not convenient for business travel.
Caution for travellers, as the area is quite sketchy......walking around the area can be dangerous, as there are crack houses in the street behind.

Room Tip: No restaurant, so only continental breakfast, which I did not go to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KreaHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night to catch two Blue Jays games the weekend of August 9th. Really good value here. The rooms were fine and very clean and updated. Service at the desk was very helpful in showing us the way over to the subway and what stop to get off to get to the Rogers centre. We also walked there and back on Saturday which only took about 30 mins. (would be the same time for a CN tower walk)

There's a nice 24 hour store across the street that has everything you need as well. The breakfast room was small, but it was fine and had normal breakfast food, no issues there.

Parking was really none there at all, but a little bit south of there barely a block, there's a nice big lot that we paid $17 for to park there for about 24 hours total which wasn't bad considering the options.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good value, very close to the Eaton Centre as well.

Found it on Hotwire, where they didn't release the name until after I paid, I really lucked out!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#63 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn City Centre

Property: Comfort Inn City Centre
Address: 321 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C2, Canada (Formerly Ambassador Hotel Toronto)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in the heart of downtown Toronto. Short walk to the Eaton Centre and minutes from most downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing