We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Ranked #20 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We spent 5 nights here and were very happy with the apartment although it could probably do with a bit of attention - some of the flooring had been damaged. However, this did not detract from the fact that the apartment was very comfortable and well equipped and also it was in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiltygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Thank you for your positive review of our property. We do try our level best to ensure that the apartment meets expectations.

Your comments about the flooring are well taken. We are in the process of renovating our suites and hope that the next time we welcome you, all the suites will have been renovated.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay with our 3 kids. Great location right downtown, 5 min. walk to subway. Apartment was a nice size for our family of 5. It was great to have 2 baths and a kitchen. The apartment was clean, some of the furniture is a little tired looking but functional. The beds were comfy. Personal toiletries are provided but not dish soap. Also would have been nice to have coffee filters and or coffee provided. Pool was clean. Exercise room functional. Parking garage was a bit tricky but once the car was parked we just left it. Overall I would say it was a great value and would definitely recommend as a place for families that need a little more space and would like to economize by dining in for a few meals.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2009

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the warm review of the Conservatory Tower. The service design and location is the reason its a favorite among families. The kids always love the pool.

Thanks to your review, we are actively considering making dish soap and coffee filters available in our suites.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you to the Conservatory Tower once again.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed In Conservatory Tower for 4 nights and we were delighted at the value for money in such a central location. Unfortunately we had two days of rain during our visit, but we used the subway around the corner to visit the Ontario Science Centre, Casa Loma and did some shopping in the Eaton Centre to escape the bad weather. Like the previous reviewer, we noticed that the safety netting on the balcony of our condo was ripped but it didn't bother us as our kids are teenagers. We were glad of the two bedroooms and made good use of the kitchen and washer and drier. We didn't get to use the pool as it was being refurbished. Would certainly recommend for families looking for clean central accommodation who don't want to break the bank. Go see Jersey Boys musical as we really enjoyed the show.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aprilfool1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2009

Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for your kind words about our suites at Conservatory tower. We make every effort to provide clean, functional living spaces for our guests.

Your observations about the safety netting have been noted and we are working to address the issue. The swimming pool is now fully functional and we would love to welcome you once again so you can enjoy it with your family.

Once again, thank you for the wonderful review.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We had a great trip to Toronto and made the best of a bad situation with our stay at Glen Grove.
When we checked in we tried to see the good side of it with the location and that is good for shopping and visiting downtown attractions.
The room however was in desperate need of repair and renovation. Doors not closing properly and fittings falling off. The balcony looked like it was never finished properly and the protective netting was ripped.
We e-mailed management twice politely about some of our concerns and comment about safety for our young children and the general state of the apartment and received no response. In my opinion this speaks more about the establishment then the state of the apartment. As I have worked as management in the hospitality industry and firmly believe that a complaint can be a gift for a business that want to provide the best service they can for all the guest.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DayCareDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2009

Dear Guest,
You're correct when you say that a complaint is a gift as it helps a business improve. And we certainly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

However, I'm concerned about your emails to the management as they did not reach me. Perhaps you were given an incorrect email address, in which case, we would like to ensure that this is never the case again. We do come across maintenance issues from time to time and guest feedback is essential for us to keep our standards high.

Conservatory Tower is a favorite among our guests, and this makes guest opinion even more valuable.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention. Our maintenance team has been instructed to review the unit.

Should you be in town again, I would welcome the opportunity to personally ensure your unit is to your satisfaction. Please do get in touch with me at brian@glengrove.com

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We keep returning to this location because it is central to everything: restaurants, museums, shopping, theatre/entertainment, across the street from College Park and all of its amenities (subway, bank, Metro Supermarket, etc.) -- all Toronto has to offfer. However, some maintenance issues do exist: outsourced housekeeping can be lax and requires more management attention. Variety of suites in hi-rise condo .

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Repeatres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. The location is definitely a plus for our guests. We appreciate the housekeeping issues you have brought to our notice. These will be addressed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Glen Grove again.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo (suite 2003) for 4 nights in April with 2 adults and 2 children (ages 3.5 and 1.5). We booked through the hotel website and since we booked less than a week in advance we got the benefit of last minute rates ($139 CAD per night).

We knew this wasn't a hotel so we weren't expecting any of the usual hotel services (daily cleaning, concierge to answer area questions), so our expectations were met on that front.

We booked this hotel because with two young children, we find having a fridge and microwave essential and there was also a pool which we knew our kids would enjoy.

When we got to the unit, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only did we have two bedrooms but we also had two full bathrooms, which was great for four people. We were also surprised to see that there was a dishwasher. The master bedroom had a queen size bed with an ensuite and the second bedroom had two twins. There was a separate living room with a sofa bed (which we didn't use) and a dining room with seating for 4. There was also a desk and chair in the dining room. There was a balcony which could be accessed from the living room and from the master bedroom. There was natural light in all the rooms except the dining room and the two bathrooms.

Unit amenities included a full kitchen incl dishwasher with pots, pans, plates, spoons, cutlery, etc and ensuite laundry. The only disappointment on this front was the lack of dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent and the lack of small dishcloths for wiping up. (We bought dishwasher pellets and just used the laundry for rinsing out our bathing suits and towels and we used face cloths to wipe the dining room table and kitchen counters.) I can understand not providing laundry detergent, but the small dishcloths and dishwashing liquid would have been appreciated.

There is a pool with a hot tub, male/female lockers each with a sauna and an exercise room. We only used the pool once and the doors were locked, so we had to ask the security guard to open the doors for us - apparently, you need to sign in. We were the only ones in the pool that day so we had it, the hot tub, the change rooms, and the saunas all to ourselves which was nice. My husband used the exercise room once and found it fine although he commented that there was no TV.

The condo is located about a 5-min walk from the subway and is walking distance (about 15-20 mins) to downtown attractions. There is a grocery store (Dominion) at the subway station which we made ample use of. There are also lots of restaurants around (nice ones on Elm, south of College and take out ones on Yonge north of College).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and thought it was great value for the money and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravellerWithTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed in Toronto for two weeks in July 2006. Our apartment was on Bay street in a Condo Residence. It was a one bed appartment . We were really pleased with the apartment in general, but the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable. It was clean, and there was warm water and a fully functioning kitchen. It is ideally located downtown and just two blocks north of the Eaton centre and 2 mins walk to subway. The management of the building were extremely helpful and friendly.

The most important thing for us was cleanliness and central location, and I would rate these two as excellent.

I did not like the fact that you had to hand in your bed sheets to be cleaned and then they are returned later. However there was a washer and drier in the room which turned out to be brilliant and were able to go home with very little laundry to do. We were also able to wash sheets and towels as we liked.

There was building going on across the street at the time but I did not find this of any disturbance.

The swimming pool was small but was clean.

The management of the building were extremely helpful and pleasant. However as we were staying in a condo, the management were from the building, not the hotel, so I cannot comment on the glen grove management as we had no need to deal with them.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gnilsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,759 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#9 of 118 in Toronto
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Canada Suites on Bay
Canada Suites on Bay
#4 of 115 in Toronto
103 reviews
Downtown West
Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Grove Conservatory Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Conservatory Tower

Address: 736 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $107 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Conservatory Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Grove Conservatory Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing