We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amenities a little shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Ranked #20 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We rented a 1 bedroom through glengrove.com the first weekend in January. The apartment was perfectly situated and the parking was insanely cheap. These wonderful aspects came with consequences. The apartment itself was a little dinged up - there were holes where a towel rack used to be, handles fell off of dresser drawers, and there was a cigarette burn on the couch. Everything worked just fine, and was clean. The parking was 5 levels under the building, and the garage door openers were temperamental.

The common areas (gym, pool, sauna) look like they are never used. I got enough exercise walking so I did not use the gym or the pool but the sauna was nice.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaw216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the honest and open review of our property. We apppreciate every feedback from our guests as it only helps us improve our standards.

We're happy that you found the location to be satisfactory. As regards the furniture, we're happy to report that as of February, 2013, all our units have new furniture and flat-screen TVs. So we are certain that you will be very comfortable the next time around.

If you don't mind, could you spare 5 minutes of your time and call me directly at 416-489-8441 Ext 271 so I could get some more feedback from you. It will be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

Regards

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Rented a 2 bedroom suite for 5 nights to accommodate 4 adults & 2 children. Was great having the full kitchen as one of the children was only 13 months old. He had plenty of room to crawl/walk around and explore. Plenty of room for all of us. The security staff weren't too pleasant. The remote for garage wasn't working properly and after calling Glen Grove, was told to leave the remote with security. Went to do so & they didn't want to take it. Parking was only $10/day - cant beat that in downtown Toronto!! Well definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your review. Yes, living in a furnished apartment certainly affords one more space especially if you have children. We're delighted that you found the apartment spacious and to your liking.

We understand the problem with the security guards, but as they are not engaged by us, it is out of our control. That said, we are actively pursuing ways to improve the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Glengrove Residences.

Regards

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Located on Bay Street across from College Park, Conservatory Tower offers, in my opinion, the best location in Toronto. It is just a quick walk away from Yorkville and Bloor Street, the Entertainment District and Eaton Centre. A supermarket, pharmacy and the subway are across the street.

The suites offer a fully-equipped kitchen with diswasher, self-controlled heating and air-conditioining and an ensuite clothes washer and dryer which is a real plus. Weekly maid service is offered in modern-designed, hardwood floor suites with great city views. A private phone line with free local calls and voicemail are included as well as cable TV. One feels as though they are living in the city not just visiting -- a home away from home. Conservatory Tower is good value for the money from any point of view with an efficient staff to advise you. As a repeat customer, it would be difficult to find a better location in Toronto.

A satisfied repeat customer.

Room Tip: Every suite has a balcony. Corner suites offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for the warm and generous review of the Glen Grove Conseratory Tower. We always look forward to welcoming you.

Further, we appreciate that you find our service design to be satisfactory and the location to be convenient.

We would like to assure you of only better things to come as the company is under new management and we're undergoing a total revamp of our suites to make them better than they are.

Look forward to welcoming you once again to the Glengrove Residences.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean but some of the amenities were old - like the bathroom. Even though we were high up, the views weren't great as it overlooks building under construction.

Location was good. It was about 15 min walk to Chinatown, 5 min walk to the central bus terminal (we took a bus to niagara falls) and the many eateries on Yonge st.

When we arrived, we picked up our keys from a very unhelpful security guard who looked like he didn't want to be there. We actually didn't see any happy looking security guards the whole time we were there - not a very good impression.

The day before we left, the lift we were in didn't work and the security guy just happen to be there, he made us out to be zombies as he made us out to not know how to press a lift button! then on the day we were leaving, only 1 of 4 lifts worked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaimeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Jaime,

Thank you for your frank and helpful response. We're happy that you found our location to be convenient. And we regret that the security personnel were less than helpful.

We operate condos in this building, and as such the security guards and the infrastructure (lifts), aren't under our management or control. That said, plesae call us the next time, and we will be happy to send someone over to assist you in any way possible.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were moved to the Consevatory towers by default as the accommodation we had booked with the Glengrove group became unavailable about one month before departure; which is a story in its own right.
The conservatory towers are conveniently located on bay St, about equidistant from 3 subway stops, closeish to restaurants and shops [5-10 minutes’ walk]. Convenient but just.
The first apartment we were given smelt of cigarette smoke, was dirty and the furniture scruffy and ancient. We were moved to a different apartment; it was better there was no smell and it was a little cleaner.
The rooms are dark, small, and the two apartments both had really old fittings. The concierges varied form pleasant to [more often] abrupt and dismissive. We did like the pool; the gym is basic at best.
We wouldn’t stay there again; even for the location. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for a non smoking floor; even better book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tornasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that you were inconvenienced prior to your arrival to our property. Further, we apologize for the service design. Our apartments since then have been completely renovated with new furniture, TVs and amenities.

The company is under new management and should you decide to visit us again, you will see a reamarkably different picture.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Please feel free to call me directly at 416-489-8441 Ext 271.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent hours online looking for 4-5 bedroom house to rent for 3 1/2 weeks to accommodate a dozen people in Toronto for family wedding. Not much available, and cost was prohibitive. Eventually decided on three separate apartments in The Conservatory Tower. We chose it primarily for the location, then on price (good), and if that is important then this place is great value. Our apartment two bedrooms and two bathrooms and was clean when we arrived (other family chose one bedroom apartments). It is serviced weekly, but toiletries and more importantly toilet paper were not replaced - they were the following week when we left a note!! However, for a place which accommodates four guests, it only had three lounge chairs, three small plates... The second bedroom was tiny, and the wardrobe door was broken, fallen off the track. It was propped up, but after 3 weeks was not repaired, neither was the broken mirror. The vertical blinds were missing slats, and these were replaced after complaint. In fact we were offered another apartment, but that was worse, the bed was broken and propped up on the cabinet.
Good points: location (apart from the construction site across the road) washer/dryer, location, reasonable size except for bedroom 2, location. Comfortable for 3, ok for 4. So what's with the location? Walking distance to sops, bars, restaurants, and more importantly to the subway and trams. Very easy to get to from the airport.
Bad points: maintenance is poor, light bulbs were not replaced, fittings were brokena nd not repaired when reported, noisy, air-con was set to heat, and we were not able to reduce the temperature to something bearable - we were opening the windows to let air in when it was snowing outside.
Overall, if you can cope with minor problems - i.e. you don't expect it all to be right, then this is a wonderfully located apartment, and good value for money. If you expect 5 star, look somewhere else. Yes, even knowing what to expect, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Check for building sites nearby, famiily who stayed in apartments on the upper floors did not compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your fair and balanced review of our property. This feedback is very valuable as we get to see our property from the guest standpoint.

We regret that your experience was affected by housekeeping issues and we have taken them very seriously. Please be assured that on your next visit, you will not encounter any such issues as we are planning a major housekeeping overhaul very shortly.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Glengrove.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

When arrived ,had to pick-up the keys from a less then helpful security guard. Opened the door to the apartment to be greeted to non working A/C and a smell like wet dog. Could only stay one night.Disgusted with dirty floors and kitchen (which had a bad smell from something) and the bed linen.Pavements on Young St was cleaner then this place. This place is a joke.Don't know how it got any good reviews

Room Tip: Go book a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear George,

We are deeply sorry that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We would like to state that things are vastly different from what they were in 2012. The company is under new management and should you decide to visit us again, you will see a reamarkably different picture.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Please feel free to call me directly at 416-489-8441 Ext 271.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 137 in Toronto
2,732 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 137 in Toronto
6,616 reviews
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Grove Conservatory Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Conservatory Tower

Address: 736 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $106 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Conservatory Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Glen Grove Conservatory Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing