We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some problems but great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Ranked #19 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent hours online looking for 4-5 bedroom house to rent for 3 1/2 weeks to accommodate a dozen people in Toronto for family wedding. Not much available, and cost was prohibitive. Eventually decided on three separate apartments in The Conservatory Tower. We chose it primarily for the location, then on price (good), and if that is important then this place is great value. Our apartment two bedrooms and two bathrooms and was clean when we arrived (other family chose one bedroom apartments). It is serviced weekly, but toiletries and more importantly toilet paper were not replaced - they were the following week when we left a note!! However, for a place which accommodates four guests, it only had three lounge chairs, three small plates... The second bedroom was tiny, and the wardrobe door was broken, fallen off the track. It was propped up, but after 3 weeks was not repaired, neither was the broken mirror. The vertical blinds were missing slats, and these were replaced after complaint. In fact we were offered another apartment, but that was worse, the bed was broken and propped up on the cabinet.
Good points: location (apart from the construction site across the road) washer/dryer, location, reasonable size except for bedroom 2, location. Comfortable for 3, ok for 4. So what's with the location? Walking distance to sops, bars, restaurants, and more importantly to the subway and trams. Very easy to get to from the airport.
Bad points: maintenance is poor, light bulbs were not replaced, fittings were brokena nd not repaired when reported, noisy, air-con was set to heat, and we were not able to reduce the temperature to something bearable - we were opening the windows to let air in when it was snowing outside.
Overall, if you can cope with minor problems - i.e. you don't expect it all to be right, then this is a wonderfully located apartment, and good value for money. If you expect 5 star, look somewhere else. Yes, even knowing what to expect, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Check for building sites nearby, famiily who stayed in apartments on the upper floors did not compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your fair and balanced review of our property. This feedback is very valuable as we get to see our property from the guest standpoint.

We regret that your experience was affected by housekeeping issues and we have taken them very seriously. Please be assured that on your next visit, you will not encounter any such issues as we are planning a major housekeeping overhaul very shortly.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Glengrove.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

When arrived ,had to pick-up the keys from a less then helpful security guard. Opened the door to the apartment to be greeted to non working A/C and a smell like wet dog. Could only stay one night.Disgusted with dirty floors and kitchen (which had a bad smell from something) and the bed linen.Pavements on Young St was cleaner then this place. This place is a joke.Don't know how it got any good reviews

Room Tip: Go book a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear George,

We are deeply sorry that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We would like to state that things are vastly different from what they were in 2012. The company is under new management and should you decide to visit us again, you will see a reamarkably different picture.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Please feel free to call me directly at 416-489-8441 Ext 271.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Booked in to stay for 4 days.

Two bedrooms with beds. Both beds had unwashed linens. Visible hairs & stains throughout both beds. I was disgusted & could not sleep in the apartment. Went & checked in across the street at the Mariott Courtyard (much nicer).

It is an apartment block, so no reception. I was given contact details by the security guard in the lobby, however when I rang the number all I got was an answering machine.

Apartment not as pictured. All furniture & beds (which also creaked) where 20+ years old.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nattych13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

It is regrettable that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. That said, we would like to mention that we are NOT a hotel. This is an upscale apartment building with spacious one and two bedroom suites.

Our housekeeping procedures are rather stringent so we're surprised you found the linens to be unwashed.

As regards after-hours numbers, we now have arrangements in place where you can get assistance after-hours.

We hope your next visit will be a better experience.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were attending a work conference in downtown Toronto and needed to find a place that could fit 5 adults and our 10 month old son. We found this place online and couldn't believe the great price. To find a hotel right downtown we were looking at anywhere from $200 - $400 per room and with our larger group we would've needed to hotel rooms. The Conservatory Towers ran us about $140 per night and it was awesome. When we arrived to our suite we were quite impressed. The suite boasted 2 bedrooms, a large living room, dining room, kitchen, and 2 bathrooms...oh and 2 balcony's with a great view of the downtown. The suite was fully furnished and included wifi. It was very clean, secure and quiet for our sleeping baby. The suite didn't come with a crib or pack n play for our son but the agency we rented through was able to provide us with a company that could deliver one to our room for a very small fee. i believe it was $8 a day. All in all this place was fantastic and we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jroy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of the Conservatory Tower. We're delighted that you were satisfied with the size of the suite and the location. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I choose the Conservatory Tower due to its proximity to the Toronto General Hospital where I had a family member recovering from a major surgery. It is just across the street from the Elizabeth Street hospital entrance - ever so convenient! I found the check-in very smooth as an envelope was left at the concierge desk for me with the keys and information on the unit.

The unit itself (suite 2005) was clean, although everything was very dated. There were several things missing form the suite upon our check-in - coffee maker, clock radio, hangars, etc. However a phone call to Brian, and those things were immediately delivered to the suite.

If you are looking for a very basic place to stay right downtown, I can recommend this. And as a women staying alone, I felt safe at this location with the security the building had.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank optionsottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. Yes, the proximity to hospitals does make the Conservatory Tower a very popular choice among our guests. We're glad that you found the place to be accessible and safe.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We are really pleased with our stay in a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite (#605) at the Conservatory Tower property. Best feature was the pillow top beds, extremely comfortable. Two balconies as well, which would be great for a summer rental. Spacious, clean, well laid-out. Our view was parking lot, but quiet, and we're there to visit, not look out the window, so that didn't bother us.
Towels, toiletries provided, plus really helpful kitchen essentials pack (dish liquid, two days worth of (bad) coffee packets, sugar, salt, and laundry soap and softener for one load of laundry.
Visited fitness centre and pool, spotless, quiet, pool looked clean. 24-hour help line, wireless internet available.
Our phone line was down and took a long time to fix. Also had to get hairdryer replaced. Agency staff are friendly and try to help, but go through property upon arrival and report anything amiss right away to get it fixed quickly. (Lamps without lightbulbs, for example).
Free visitor parking in building was a relief for family and friends dropping by.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for your detailed and accurate review of our property. The 2 bedroom units at the Conservatory Tower are spacious and airy (you're right about the balconies coming in really handy in the summers).

We apologize that the phone line took time to be fixed. While its not an excuse, but this happens very rarely. We hope to welcome you once again to the Conservatory Tower on your next visit and we'll ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. We'll even try and change the coffee for you :-)

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 weeks in the Glen Grove Conservatory Tower while in Toronto visiting our daughter. We had a two bedroom suite and with 2 bathrooms, lounge and dining room, nice kitchen with diswasher, washing machine/dryer we were very comfortable. Both bathrooms had a shower over the bath and did not cause any problems negotiating as bath was reasonably low.
The kitchen was well equiped, although you need to bring all supplies. No coffee, sugar or milk were supplied and if you are going to do some cooking everything is needed. Also dish washing supplies.
The maid service cleaned and changed linen once a week and did a very good job. Everything was kept clean and tidy and there was lots of linen.
The downtown position is excellent, with a small convience store downstairs as well as a supermarket in the shopping mall accross the road. Bus went past the door and it was a short walk up to the streetcar or the subway.
If you are coming to Toronto and looking for accommodation, we highly recomment Glen Grove Conservatory Tower for a convient and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joybell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We're happy that everything was to your satisfaction. We appreciate that you noticed all the small things we do to make our guests comfortable. We don't put any food supplies in the unit prior to arrival as people are concerned about allergies, etc.

As you pointed out, for those looking for space, convenience and location, the Conservatory Tower certainly stands out as a winner.

Once again, thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate it and look forward to attending to your accommodation requirements the next time you visit Toronto.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,748 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 138 in Toronto
6,694 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,777 reviews
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Grove Conservatory Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Conservatory Tower

Address: 736 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $106 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Conservatory Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Grove Conservatory Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing