We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daio Japanese Cuisine

Daio Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #1,033 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great restaurant, very unassuming but with great food and great service at reasonable prices. Small semi-private booths as well as open tables. Loved the ginger tea.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDEC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Jap food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The best sushi in town, its a must if you are in Toronto, excellent service and the food is beyond expectations, great japanese scenario

Helpful?
Thank Najas00
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have never tasted such good sushi!! Our waitress was nice and helpful and the food was amazing. We really enjoyed this experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good food, close to my hotel. The waitress was very nice and suggested Goyza for us to try - it was homemade, and ended up being amazing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Way over priced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had salmon sashimi and Tuna sashimi and a avocado hand roll. $39 taxes included and nothing to drink.
there were 7 very thin pieces of salmon (the smallest pieces I have ever had) and the same for the tuna.
I'll admit the salmon sashimi ($15!!!) was excellent but the tuna($16!!) had no taste at all.
It took 25 minutes for takeout and there was only 2 other people in there.
After reading reviews I had high hopes but for $40 I was pretty hungry and only half satisfied when I finished eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCDOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daio Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Daio Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing