We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value,except laundry”
Review of 89 Chestnut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
89 Chestnut
Ranked #99 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great value,except laundry”
Reviewed July 14, 2006

Location, food, people great. Laundry is large, clean and machines work,.BUT you must
buy a card from the machine behind a poll in the laundry room for $5 -- (a no refund charge card ).. Then you must "fill" this card with a min $10 (also non- refundable). I find $15 too much for a single load of laundry.Perhaps if enough people care they might consider a $5 deposit (refundable at check out) card. Any unused balance would pass on to next guest. Fun and fair. We sold our $5 card with $6 left on it for $5 to a very nice foreign student. Good luck.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Go Tag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    29
    14
    18
See reviews for
16
14
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Arrived here after a long flight from Ireland. Next morning, wife not feeling too well. I had breakfast in dining room, and tried to bring her some toast in our room. Stopped at lobby. No food to rooms, Sir. Argument. Toast brought to room. Wife recovers.
This was a dodgy beginning to a week of sheer friendlines, competence, and top of the range value. The problem at the start was not of their making. Proper Canadian rules and regulations. That's really why we went there. Room was excellent. Location couldn't be better. A/C a little noisy during the night...but a few beers and earplugs put paid to that. if you have loads of money, book a top hotel. If you are mid range, grab this.
TOP TIP...Go for the full hot breakfast. Without doubt, the breakfast here is the best you will find in North America or Europe. If you are budgeting for food, have this breakfast, and add 10 bucks a head for a coffee and sandwich that evening. it really is that good.
Thanks to all at 89.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2006

Two of us stayed right downtown for $99 (plus tax) per night. This included a fabulous all-you-can-eat breakfast spread (eggs, sausages, fruit, cereal, a dozen kinds of breads and rolls, several types of coffee, etc.). Parking was $23 per night in the public covered lot. This is a dorm, so don't expect luxury (and our matress was not the best), but it's clean, safe, private, and wonderfully convenient to everything.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EllenDelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 18, 2005

We heard about 89 Chestnut when my son was notified that it would be his residence when starting University in September. We were going to be in Toront a few weeks before, so we decided to stay there instead of a regular hotel. We had two adjoining rooms with a south view of the city looking over Nathan Phillips square so there were lots of trees and the CN tower was in the view. Comfortable, clean air-conditioned rooms and the shower had invigorating water pressure. You couldn't ask for a better downtown location - the Eaton Centre, Queen St. and the subway very close and great restaurants all around. Walking distance to the theatres, Yonge St, University of Toronto and just about everything. Price about $80 Canadian for two including an OK continental breakfast with option to upgrade to a great hot breakfast. Excellent security and underground parking. We didn't miss the TV - in 8 days I went out a couple times to the Common room on the floor to watch the news.
My son lives there now for the academic year and loves it. Taxi stand at the hotel across the street. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 2, 2005

If you want room service, daily housekeeping and multi-channel tv this is not the place for you. If on the other hand you want a cheap room (we paid CDN$79 per night) right in the heart of the city (it's located behind Nathan Philips Square close to the bus station and Eaton Centre) with a free breakfast buffet then this is a great deal. Formerly the Colony Hotel the rooms obviously have a hotel feel with comfortable beds and chairs, nice bathrooms, a writing desk and table. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom and also an iron and ironing board. Housekeeping comes around twice a week but there are plenty of towels available to keep you going.

Check-in was quick and simple. You have to show your key to security before going up to your room but the staff are very friendly. Check out was no problem either and there was no problem storing our bags until later. An added advantage of the hotel is that the airport express bus stops directly outside the front door so no long walks with luggage. I found this hotel thanks to reviews on here and would have no problem recommending it to others.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2004

Great place! This is the cheapest place with the best atmosphere I know in downtown Toronto. I paid $79 a night as opposed to $150 that I normally pay in other hotels. The only difference is that there was no TV in the room. But who is goes to Toronto to watch TV. I would definately stay there again, this place is a keeper!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Spunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 30, 2004

Great rooms, great location and a good value. A university of Toronto residence the rest of the year but visitor accommodation for Summer season. Friendly and helpful staff and a welcoming atmosphere. If you have a minimum 3 night stay(they don't accept shorter bookings) in downtown Toronto, this is the place to be!

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#106 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Downtown
bE SixFifty Hotel
bE SixFifty Hotel
#83 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#77 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Bridgestreet Qwest
Bridgestreet Qwest
#95 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 89 Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Chestnut

Property: 89 Chestnut
Address: 89 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 89 Chestnut 2.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Chestnut offers accommodation in Downtown Toronto, with the look and feel of a hotel and the economy of a University Residence. 89 Chestnut, is located in the heart of downtown with Toronto's famous City Hall and Nathan Phillip's Square as our direct neighbours. Near shopping, business, entertainment districts and all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 89 Chestnut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
89 Chestnut Toronto
89 Chestnut Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing