We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay- a few disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #54 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at Pantages on Saturday night for the spa and stay package. Overall I had a good stay, but wanted to comment on some of the short-falls on the hotel. Firstly, the spa was incredible- I highly recommend it to anyone. The room, however, did not meet my expectations for the price that we paid. I've stayed in much nicer hotels in Toronto for much less than what we paid. We paid $275 for room that included a $100 spa credit (paid an extra $220 for the couples spa package) with an over all price of $495. In my opinion, that is a lot of money which in turn I would expect only the highest quality room. The rooms are in desperate need of renovations, the decor is very nice but the floors/walls/bathrooms as well as the hallway need improvement. I don't usually complain about detail but when I am spending that much money I expect the best. If the room cost around $100 I would not complain about a single thing.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay- the fridge in the room is a nice touch. I really hope that Pantages is in the works of getting some renovations and upgrades done. Until then, please lower your prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvll0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hello TrvllOver , Thank you for taking the time to write a review your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your experience in the spa. I apologise that you felt that the room was not to your expectation. We are currently in the process of repainting all our rooms and will be updating all the pillow cases and top sheets on the beds in the next few months. Please call me at the hotel when you are planning your next trip to downtown Toronto. I look forward to welcoming back to the Pantages your next trip to Tor Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is brutal with outdated interior and terribly stiff beds. Hotwire somehow classified this as a 4star hotel. Toronto clearly has low standards.

Location is good but the rest doesn't redeem itself

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hideo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hello hmabuchi,I would like to apologize on behalf of the Pantages Hotel for your less than positive experience during your recent stay with us. I will personally check the room you stayed in to ensure the bed is to our standard, as we receive many great comments on how comfortable our beds are. We are in the process of repainting our guest rooms. Again, I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week and it was fantastic, rooms and service was royal. Spacious, clean, huge King bed, very welcoming and friendly astophere. Staff were wonderful, especially Pella at the Front desk and the ladies in bar. Will recommend and looking forward to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDL201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hello BDL20, Thank you for taking the time to write a review your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for great service and positive experiences and to have you share your experience at the Pantages is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming on your next trip to Toronto. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Service amazing. Jeff at front desk was super responsive, accommodating, and taking care of everything - really gave me peace of mind feeling like I was fully taken care of from printing to checking bags in storage. Shirley, one of staff helping in our rooms, was amazing - she was clearly on break and we needed an emergency for a team-building exercise and needed shower caps - she willingly took it on right away and delivered exactly what we needed right away. She even CAME BACK to ask if we needed anything for the minibar - she really made us feel like she anticipated our needs. Wond & Rob helping with cabs were phenomenal - in particular, Wond was patient and listened to my questions and responded and shared his amazing service-first customer-first mindset. He taught the importance of professionalism and service first. Rob also made us feel very taken care of asking where we were going etc. Sir keeping fitness centre all clean so early was so warm, friendly, compassionate - really wonderful. Excellent service - highly recommend! Than you whole Pantages team!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hello YW, Thank you for your such a great review of our staff and your overall experience during your stay at the Pantages Hotel. We are always striving to do better, and to ensure that each and every guest feels welcome during their stay with us. It is reassuring to know that your experience was such a positive one! Your comments about Rupleltia, Jeff, Wond and Rob have been shared with each of them, additionally they will be recognized on our employee recognition program. We truly hope that the next time you're in Toronto; you will choose to stay with us again! Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General l Manager Pantages Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed at the beginning of March at the hotel for a conference. Great location, and value. Service in the bar, was personal and attentive, front desk did a great job in providing me with ACCURATE invoices for my expense report. bed was very comfortable, and comfortable room temperature. suggestion would be for some more high wattage bulb ins the bathroom.look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hello smolie ; Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay during the conference you were attending. Thank for the comment on the service in the Martini Bar and the Front Desk. We will look into your suggestion in increasing the wattage of the light in the bathroom.. Thank you for taking the time to share the details regarding your most recent stay. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at the Pantages hotel for a month -- I stayed there for while my house in Toronto was being repaired (covered by insurance). My room had a kitchen (like a studio, to one side, and ensuite washer and dryer. Pets were also allowed too!! :)

The location is so convenient! It's one short block from the Eaton Center and a stone's throw away from two subway stations. The room I had faced the mall and you could see old City Hall as well. Very fun location.

The sales manager, Jennifer Babbini, was very accommodating, as was Pella at front desk, making my stay a very comfortable and enjoyable one!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a pet-friendly hotel downtown and right close to the subway, this is it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Hello Kathy, Thank you for such a wonderful review. This is what we strive for and to have you validate our efforts by sharing your experience at The Pantages hotel is very much appreciated. Thank you for sharing your comments about Jennifer and Rupellta . I we will be sure to follow up with each of them and recognize them personally. Thank you for taking the time to share the details regarding your most recent stay. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Pantages has a great little martini bar and the rooms have everything a traveler or party reveler requires. As it's near Dundas Square, in downtown Toronto there are a lot of musicians or actors performing in the area who stay there. Massey Hall is two doors down so you can often find visiting rock stars in the martini bar post show.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Hello jaymzbee; Thank you for taking the time to write a review your review of Pantages Hotel and the Martini Bar. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwarding to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 137 in Toronto
2,734 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Address: 200 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Family Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#50 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $131 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the best dining, shopping and entertainment Toronto has to offer, sits the Pantages Hotel. Designed by world-renowned architect Moshe Safdie, the personality of the hotel is inspired by the Theatre focused neighbourhood. When traveling for business or leisure, guests can find all the very best that Canada’s largest metropolis presents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing