We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #53 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Chatham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

You get what you pay for, lovely rooms, great ambiance. If you just want a room to sleep it this may not be for you. This is an upscale place for young professionals rather than a family hotel. I look for places that are better for singles and child-free couples and this suits the bill.

  • Liked — Modern hotel.
  • Disliked — Everything was fine, no complaints.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lederfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    327
    133
    93
    82
See reviews for
97
366
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south western ontario
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

This hotel is perfectly located for a show at Massey Hall or the Canon Theatre - no need for a taxi. We stayed in a "serenity" suite on the 4th floor. Soft lighting, fountains, serene music. Very comfortable king sized bed with duvet and lots of pillows. Rain shower in the bathroom was great, although the jacuzzi tub didn't look that clean. The staff we encountered were all very friendly - maid, parking attendant, front desk clerk. The continental breakfast was very good. High quaility teas and coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, waffles and very nice cheese. It is a short walk to the Eaton's Centre and Yonge street for shopping.

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — jacuzzi tub didn't look clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinderella50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

This review has taken awhile, but I will share my experience with you. In October 2006 my wife and I were getting married. We were looking for a nice hotel at a decent price where we could spend our wedding night. After checking a number of hotels, we were very satisified with the Pantages (in terms of price, room size, layout, etc...), and decided to book it at least 3 months prior to the actual night we needed it. Everything seemed to be in order, I even received an email from the Manager a week before our stay saying that everything was taken care of, and I had more important things to worry about then the hotel.

On Wedding Night, we arrived at the hotel and recevied the keys to a room not the one we had selected. I asked if this was the same room, and the front staff said it was 'similar'. When we got to the room there was nothing similar about the room. I called back down to front desk and was told that someone had taken the room we had wanted, and left their belongings which meant that the hotel staff could not remove it. At this point I was thoroughly disgusted. I will admit that the hotel manager did get on the line with us and said he would do whatever it took to make us feel better. He said he would comp us for the room, however, that really wasn't what we were looking for. Eventually we ended up going to the Cosmopolitan which is a sister company of their's (which they comped), but the whole experience left us very bitter.

After returning from our honeymoon I sent the Manager an email stating how dissapointed I was in their service and the fact that I never even received an apology letter. She did send me an apology letter after and called me as well to tell me how sorry she was, but it wasn't enough.

It's been more than a year since this incident has happened, and the experience still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I strongly urge all potential guests of this property to book elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Too Numerous to List
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-dot_Traveller_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

The location of this hotel is terrific, the staff were courteous and friendly, but the hotel itself is need of repairs, painting and generally updating. We were put into one room at first that had a loose floor, water stains on the walls, bedspread with holes in it and grubby looking furniture. When we expressed our disappointment with the room the staff were great and moved us to a different, bigger room. The only thing was that the same things were wrong with this room! There were many scratches on the furniture, baseboards falling off and the artwork on the wall had dents all around the corners! We soon found out the reason as it kept falling off the wall! The rooms were basically shabby. But the staff were nice, the service was good and the location is great.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suburbanmomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2008

What a fantastic hotel. The staff is friendly and professional. The hotel is clean and well appointed.

We booked a superior room but upgraded when we got there into a room with a big living room and separate bedroom. Somehow they found out we were celebrating my birthday and they sent a nice cake and even sang!

The people who work there look like they are having fun and they were so helpful in directing us to the best shopping and dining experiences.

This was my first time in a boutique hotel but it will not be my last!!!

The rooms had a washer and dryer and a kitchen. The hardwood floors were really nice.

We had a great time at Pantages and will be back for sure!

  • Liked — the people and the rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharpielvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Booked the place through Expedia based on reviews and advice from friends who stayed there.

What a mistake !

This place is in a BAD neighborhood. It is on a small street near Yonge and Dundas and some creepy characters are constantly passing by demanding money or simply giving you the look.

Room was awful - small as a shoe box and overlooking a dirty rooftop with some machinery on top. We have asked for another room and were brushed off by front desk staff who had difficulty speaking English.

Save your money ! AVOID THIS PLACE !

  • Liked — we only had to stay there 1 night
  • Disliked — Neighborhood, small and VERY NOISYroom, nasty staff, place is very poorly built
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cocochaneltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Nice little boutique hotel. Very central to many of Toronto's attractions and a quick subway or streetcar ride away from many others. The suites were very nicely appointed with modern furniture and kept clean. The small kitchenette was a nice touch for people who wanted to stay in.

  • Disliked — Wireless internet was a challenge.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 137 in Toronto
1,803 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,658 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Property: Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Address: 200 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Family Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#50 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the best dining, shopping and entertainment Toronto has to offer, sits the Pantages Hotel. Designed by world-renowned architect Moshe Safdie, the personality of the hotel is inspired by the Theatre focused neighbourhood. When traveling for business or leisure, guests can find all the very best that Canada’s largest metropolis presents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing