We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good enough room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #53 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location, good enough room.”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Here's the deal: if you are looking for the heights of hip during a visit to Toronto, you are going to be disappointed with this place. But, if you are going as a business traveler and you're going to be there for a while, this place will beat the hell out of your typical Residence Inn.

I had a perfectly fine stay here -- I'd give it three and a half stars if I could. But it's a little incongruous that the place is going for a sleek, hip vibe, at the same time as it has these very practical stove tops and refrigerators in all the rooms. However, that said, it is actually quite nice to have access to a fridge, sink, wine glasses, wine opener, etc. during a stay. Beyond that, my room had a window that opened, a comfortable bed, and a full bath tub. It was clean, if a bit beat up. The walls are not especially sound proof, as I discovered on St Patrick's Day, when the noisy children in the room next to me were getting their pre-game on. Fortunately, they went out for the real revelry at a reasonable hour, before I had to get all curmudgeonly on them or on the desk.

And speaking of the desk, I had a perfectly good experience in terms of customer service, which I emphasize since many of the other reviewers did not. They were gracious when I arrived early, and had a room ready for me to check in. They put me on a high floor as I asked. Housekeeping was efficient and helpful, and I had a very good experience in the spa, with each of the people I interacted with. Sometimes I wonder if you don't get bad service when you give a bad attitude, but let me get back on topic here. The bartender at the Martini Bar was conversational and made good drinks, venturing off the menu and doing a creditable job when I described what I wanted. It's only too bad the bar always seemed so dead and empty, but then again, Sunday night might not exactly be prime martini time.

As a couple of final observations, this hotel is in a great location, it's moderately priced, and has some nice amenities, like the spa and fitness room. You'll get what you pay for here: a perfectly adequate stay at a decent hotel. If you want to height of hipness, or newness, you'll be disappointed, so go check in to the Gladstone or the Drake.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supergirl_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    327
    133
    93
    82
See reviews for
97
366
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk County, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

I booked a room at the Pantages three months ago. Four days before my trip they called to let me know they don't have the type of room I need. I will not be staying here, now or ever. That is terrible customer service.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Lex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at the Pantages Hotel as we had a family event in town. It was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. The location is great, but that is about the only good thing I can say about it.

From check in to check out, it was far from the "boutique experience" that Pantages so proudly advertises.

The staff were completely indifferent to guest experience. I heard other people complaining as well, so it wasn't just us. At times, the staff were extremely rude. It was so bad and offensive that we complained to the Manager, who in turn offered us free parking. That was nice, but not enough to make me ever want to come back.

Our room was clean, but worn. The Pantages website raves of their luxurious jacuzzi tubs, but our jets were broken. Light bulbs were out. When I plugged my hair dryer into an outlet, it blew it up and broke it. All in all, definitely sub-par.

I will never stay at Pantages again and do not recommend anyone else stay there either.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WinstonBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Pleased with this hotel stay overall. Great central downtown location, across from the Eaton's Centre. We took advantage of a "Shopping Package" which included a $50 gift card to the mall across the street, and also included free parking (which depending on the location downtown is worth like $40). Hotel staff allowed for an early check in so that we could get to the mall and get our car parked, bags inside and get to the downtown shopping and restaurants.

Spa on site, provided good service and atmosphere. Small little Martini Bar onsite, with plenty of drink choices to choose from, and also had a piano bar. Room was very spacious and had everything one would need for a short weekend stay.

Only area of improvement would be the internet service, it was available but for an extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at the Pantages Hotel.

The decor is modern, streamlined, very much like a boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable. Love the location: Very close to the Eaton Centre, theatres. Great value for the money.

But the Pantages lacks the attention to detail generally associated with boutique hotels. Every time I stay there, I can't help but notice little maintenance slip ups: chipped paint, cracks in the sinks... Nothing major but just falling short of boutique standards.

And another thing: Breakfast starting at 7 on a weekday morning? That's just too late for this business traveller.

All in all though, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvie-Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

So I book a room at the Pantages Hotel to attend a conference across the street at St Mike's Hospital. Very handy! Classy little boutique hotel! When we check in, we get upgraded to room 1618. It is one of their largest rooms. Separate spacious bedroom with king bed. One bathroom (not large). Living room is spacious with pull out double couch, desk area. Kitchen is full! Apartment size fridge, dishwasher, stove top and oven, microwave, coffee maker etc. Quite impressive! Modern. Recently renovated. I realized how great this room would be for a family weekend in Toronto (no pool, though). Great location very close to Eaton's Centre, theatres etc. Staff was very accommodating.....brought bedding for the pull out couch within minutes of us arriving in the room (I slept on the pull out couch and found it quite comfy). Door man very friendly. Never would have guessed that a perfect, little suite like this would be hidden in the Pantages Hotel.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Darl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is my second stay at the Pantages Hotel, a classy little boutique hotel adjacent to Massey Hall and the Pantages/Canon/Ed Mirvish theatre, a stone's throw from the Eaton Centre and Dundas Square. Rooms are nicely done in muted neutrals with well done photos of Toronto highlights. Glass wine and water glasses (much more rare in hotels than they should be!). Lobby bar with gas fireplace and weekend piano entertainer. Service throughout our stay was efficient and professional, Spa services available on the same floor as the fitness centre. Pricey unless you can snag a deal, but well worth it if you can.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank So_much_to_see084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 137 in Toronto
1,803 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,658 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Property: Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Address: 200 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Family Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#50 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the best dining, shopping and entertainment Toronto has to offer, sits the Pantages Hotel. Designed by world-renowned architect Moshe Safdie, the personality of the hotel is inspired by the Theatre focused neighbourhood. When traveling for business or leisure, guests can find all the very best that Canada’s largest metropolis presents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing