We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Nearby Hotels
$150
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Omni King Edward Hotel(Toronto)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Delta Hotels Toronto(Toronto)
$306
$262
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$135
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
$256
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
$139
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$211
$188
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$173
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
342
346
157
98
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
346
157
98
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassey hallmartini bareaton centrewasher and dryerfran's restaurantfront deskmichael's hospitalfull kitchened mirvish theatrestove topdeluxe suitecontinental breakfastyonge streetthe heart of the cityvalet parkingfantastic locationbig city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is an OK hotel, but if you are looking for or anticipating a luxury hotel, you'll be very disappointed. Before arriving in Toronto, we stayed at a La Quinta Inn, and found that the accommodations were nicer at La Quinta than at the Pantages. This hotel is nowhere near the caliber of the high end chains such the Four Seasons or even more moderate luxury hotels such as Hyatt, Marriott, Hilton, etc., We went with another family, and saw a total of 5 of the hotel's rooms, and none of them was great. The hotel is billed as a trendy boutique hotel, and although the decor is modern, much of the hotel was in so-so condition, with badly dented and chipped furniture, frayed sofas, and somewhat dingy hallways. Much of the hotel badly needs repainting. On the 4th floor, the door to the service elevator was kept open and exposed a filthy work area -- hardly what you want to see on the way to your hotel room. The fitness center had no amenities such as towels, nor was it air conditioned on a hot summer day. We also encountered a number of problems in the rooms: air conditioning that did not work; one room with only luke warm hot water.

Unless you are a really sound sleeper, noise is another problem: the hotel is located across the street from a large hospital, and there were loud ambulance sirens through the wee hours of the morning. There is also a helipad on the rooftop, and the helicopters fly incredibly close to the hotel, making deafening noise. We also were awakened at 6:15 a.m. one morning when the garbage men decided to empty the large trash dumpsters directly below our window -- it sounded like our room was under attack.

There is no concierge at the hotel, and although the staff at the front desk were pleasant, they were able to give only limited information about restaurants and events, and we found that much of the information was inaccurate.

To summarize:

Pros: Good location. Suites are fairly large; hotel staff were pleasant.

Cons: Much of the hotel has a worn and tattered feel. There is a lot of noise at night related to the nearby hospital. No concierge. We encountered a number of problems (e.g. A/C)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HM_from_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSchwass_GM, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear tripadvisor member - thank you for taking the time to write to us. We truly do appreciate your opinions and concerns regarding your recent stay. On behalf of the Pantages and all of our staff, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. We strive to deliver the best hotel service in the city and with the help your feedback we will be able to move forward and implement the best strategies. The Pantages is a boutique style hotel with 91 all suite rooms – that being said, we are not comparable to other big chain hotels such as the Hyatt, Marriot and Hilton. The overall look of our hotel resembles urban chic with modern finishings. We apologize that we did not meet your expectation in terms of the condition of the hotel - we are currently working through renovations in areas that require an upgrade. Our housekeeping staff also works very hard to ensure that all of our facilities are properly maintained, we will however share your feedback with our department leaders to ensure consistency. The hotel is located across the street from a hospital, but only on occasion do we hear the ambulance siren go off – once the ambulance has reached the hospital entrance they are very good at turning it off. The hotel does not have a designated concierge area, but our front desk agents are very helpful with assisting our guests during their stay. They are extremely familiar with the downtown core, where to dine and place to see while in town. We do apologize sincerely for the problems with the air conditioning; unfortunately Toronto was faced with one of the hottest summers yet and there were a few “hiccups” with our system during this time period. Later that day this issue was resolved and the AC was working. If you have any further questions regarding our say, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best wishes, from all of us at the Pantages. Mark Schwass, Mark.schwass@pantageshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here during a heatwave in June. The hotel is conveniently located just off Yonge St and close to some of the theatres. Our room has 2 small-ish double beds, a kitchen area with a combi-oven, hob, fridge, coffee maker, kettle, washer and dryer, plus a decent bathroom with shower over the bath. The aircon was effective but noisy. Bed linen was reasonable with a feather quilt but overly bulky foam pillows. There was some crockery and a dish which could be used in the combo, but no pan for the hob. Bathroom washbasin was missing a plug. There was wifi in the room at a charge, but free wifi in the bar. There was a simple buffet breakfast in the bar downstairs, comprising juice, fruit, yogurt, bread and pastries. The bar did good cocktails in the evening plus a limited range of meals and snacks. The hotel was having some difficulties with the lift system during our stay, with rarely more than 1 out of 2 working, and on one occasion we had to use the service lift. Also no safe in the room. We liked this hotel but some of these jiggles should be fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSchwass_GM, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear tripadvisor member, thank-you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pantages. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, breakfast and the martini bar. My apologies for the inconvenience regarding the elevators – our maintenance team worked very hard at ensuring that the lift systems were running smoothly for later that day. I have forwarded all of your feedback regarding your room experience and amenities to our housekeeping department as your comments are extremely important to us. If you have any further questions regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best wishes, from all of us at the Pantages. Mark Schwass, Mark.schwass@pantageshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and will certainly stay again when we are in Toronto and budget allows. We came to Toronto to enjoy a concert at Massey for our anniversary. We couldn't have picked a better location. It is ten steps away from the front door of Massey. We enjoyed seeing the artists go in and out over the course of the day. As an added bonus, its REALLY hard to get into the restroom at Massey during the performances because of the crowds and few lavatories-so we took advantage of the hotels much nicer one during the show!

We loved dinner and drinks at the martini bar before our show, and enjoyed a bananna split at the 24 hour retro cafe called Frans after. Both establishments are part of the hotel. It was walking distance in heels to lots of shopping, bars and restaurants. In flats, it was walking distance from the very cool and eclectic Kensington open air market. The breakfast place right near the hotel (offsite) was amazing.

The hotel front desk upon hearing it was our anniversary had many delightful treats for us. The front desk and valet staff made us feel very special and welcome. They where friendly, caring and very profesional. I would like to make special mention of Ryan (Im pretty sure) at the front desk and the filipino valet named Ricky (I think). I'm bad with names but great with impressions!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingmgmt, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Dear tvrockstar, happy anniversary from all of us at the Pantages! We appreciate your wonderful feedback and comments. The Pantages Martini Bar is known as the pre/post show hot spot! We are so glad that you enjoyed everything it has to offer; wide selection of martinis and various gourmet sharing platters. We also agree that when staying in downtown Toronto, location is everything! So we are very fortunate to be steps away from Massey Hall and other Toronto landmarks such as the Eaton Centre! Moreover, we are very pleased to hear that you loved our customer service and that our front desk agents were able to make your anniversary very memorable. Hope to see you real soon! Best regards, Mark Schwass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This hotel is very well located; easy access to everything. However, the staff is the worst ever. My family is in the hospitality business and I have never seen a hotel with such bad staff.
The only one who was the most pleasant and extremely helpful at all times is "Ricky" the valet. I stayed at the Pantages for 3 months on business in one of the suites and I never got any help from the front desk. EVER. At first I thought maybe it was me, but no. On several occasions I was in the lobby waiting for my ride and I witnessed the people at the front desk being very rude to the guests.
Because they were so rude, I never ordered room service, I never went to their martini bar; etc.....
ALSO - I went to the spa on Saturday for an "express" manicure and they charged me $36. That is a RIP OFF. Also, I took the time to read some of the reviews today and I noticed that the management only replied to the people who had positive comments about this hotel. I guess that says it all. Very sad, I will NEVER go back and I'll make sure our corporate meetings are not held at the Pantages.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deedzMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingmgmt, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

Dear DeedzMontreal - thank you for taking the time to write to us. We truly do appreciate your opinions and concerns regarding your recent stay. On behalf of the Pantages and all of our staff, I would like to apologize for your poor experience. It is nice to see a guest who is passionate enough to contribute such extensive comments. Your notes about the front desk and our level of service are all being handled with each department leader to ensure that we deliver the best quality of customer service. As for your experience at the spa, please keep in mind that our prices are at par in comparison to other spa/salons in downtown Toronto. We are also working very hard to respond to all comments posted on Tripadvisor (bad and good). Please keep in mind that we do not reply to positive comments only, there have been a few minor concerns from other guests and we have provided them with an explanation. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best regards, Mark Schwass, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My wife and I booked the Exotic Retreat package for our 13th anniversary last weekend. We arrived just before 1pm and our room was ready about 15 minutes later, well ahead of the posted 3pm check-in time. The room was clean and in excellent condition and very quiet. We enjoyed martinis in the martini bar and the bartender also gave us complimentary glasses of champagne and the management sent chocolate covered strawberries to our room when they learned it was our anniversary.The spa treatment was great as was the rainforest room

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeafsFan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingmgmt, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us was nothing but memorable! Anniversary's are such a special milestone and we wanted to make sure that your celebration included an unforgettable experience with the Pantages! Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and hope to see the both of you real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews