We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial College Residence
Ranked #105 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a great and quiet stay. It is a dorm however they rent rooms in the summer at a nicely discounted rate. It was very quiet and everyday my brother and I took the transit into the city, very cheap. They offer discounted tickets to wonderland amongst other attractions. Nice continental breakfast and pool is clean. I will be back :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Compasswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    6
    3
    9
See reviews for
16
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel is also a place to sleep for students. That's why there's no free wifi in the rooms, but in the lobby there is.

There's a swimming pool in the hotel and I think the breakfast here was one of the best breakfasts we've had through our whole tour. There's a laundry room, which we used of course, and the rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were visiting family and were able to book this the night before for a reasonable rate(69.99)
It is right off the 401 and was handy for our purposes. The check in clerk was absolutlely wonderful. The facility is now a student residence and hotel in summer. It is not glamorous but it is clean and comfortable. There is nothing i would complain about. It is a bargain with pool, cabled internet in the room, flat screen tv(small), microwave, mini fridge and free breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famintagrace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is a dorm for students. In the Summer they rent rooms. The rooms are hotel size and has a tv not flat screen. The beds are clean and confortable. AC and Heat in the room. The Wi Fi works in the lobby and in an atrium in the middle of the building with plenty of tables and in the lobby with couches and chairs. The lobby is like an old European lobby and rich in wood. The place is secure and there is an inside swimming pool HEATED which is great. I booked via this method and my total for two people including tax was 71.00 Canadian. This included a breakfast in the attrium of coffee, juice, bagles, cream cheese and jelly and fruit. Like an apple or banana.
In this pricey area this is a good alternative affording confort, privacy and security. I recommend for a night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stay a night at this place with family last weekend. Booked a room with two double beds at CAD77 (including tax and 5% off coupon). Was given a room on Level 6. Quiet surrounding.
Mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat-screen TV in room. The shower, sink and toilet all worked well.

Pros: Plenty of car park, cleanliness of room, clean heated indoor pool with a lifeguard.
Cons: Indoor pool is only opened 6pm-10pm (not everyday, need to check the calendar). Continental breakfast is very basic (bread and cereal, tea/coffee and juice). No wifi but wired internet cable in the room. If you need wireless internet, you need to be on level 1 only. Staff are not very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hdilie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great clean room for price. Quiet and clean. Lovely pool (pool is only open 6pm-10pm and closed some days). Best continental breakfast I had. So close to Toronto Zoo and bought discount tickets from front desk. The only downside was a loose over head lamp swang down and bumped me. We payed 86$ and it was awesome for the price!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

we booked this place hoping this is average hotel but we were shocked when we went there. Its college dorm and student are screaming, laughing and shouting in lobby. Dorm room has lots noise like student jumping on upper level and few knocking wall kind harassment. Straight way to explain just stay way to save money and time. We left room in just 2 hours.

Room Tip: Stay away that only thing we can say
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Scarborough
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Inn
Scarborough
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#65 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial College Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial College Residence

Property: Centennial College Residence
Address: 940 Progress Ave, Toronto, Ontario M1G 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Hotel Class:2 star — Centennial College Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centennial College Residence is a unique and affordable alternatively for travellers on a budget. Conveniently located off Markham Road and Highway 401, this location features 190 spacious guest rooms fully furnished with all the amenities you will need. Guests will enjoy our indoor pool, common kitchen, laundry room and a relaxing seat in our garden atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centennial College Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Residence And Conference Center
Centennial Residence Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing